Dermot Trulock, Hannah Gruber win at Laragh Classic, Wicklow

Posted on: September 1st, 2018

Dermot Trulock won the men’s race and the the women’s event Hannah Gruber-Stadler was untroubled by a crash just behind her (Photos with thanks to Mat Rainer Photography)


Trulock, Gruber win at Laragh Classic, Co Wicklow


One of the very best riders in the country this year, Dermot Trulock has taken a strong win at the Laragh Classic.

Trulock arrived at the top of Wicklow Gap on the second passage today on his own by about 20 seconds.

The Lucan CRC man had earlier bridged across to the leading riders after a four-man breakaway took flight.

And as the pressure was applied second time up the Wicklow Gap he proved strongest.

In the women’s classic Hannah Gruber-Stadler, a visiting Austrian rider set to take on Rás na mBan next week, won the day.

She was just clear of a fragmenting group on the run-in to the finish line, being chased by Imogen Cotter (Burren CC) and Aine Donegan (Scott Orwell).

The two chasers were trying desperately to get up to Gruber-Stadler when a crash occurred.

Donegan, a new find on the home scene this year, hit the deck very hard at speed. Cotter managed to get around her and stay upright to take 2nd place.

And while Donegan eventually got over the finish line, she was passed by several riders.


Will Ryan takes the A3-Junior event; his climbing capturing him a sure victory (Photos with thanks to Mat Rainer Photography)


Lauren Creamer (Brotherton Cycles) was 3rd from Katharine Smyth (Ballymena RD) and national champion Eve McCrystal (Garda CC), in 5th place.

Donegan, who literally limped home after her smash, still took 6th place.

In the men’s race the field did not split despite aggression in the early stages. However, it did fragment on the first climb of Wicklow Gap.

While it came back together again, a strong breakaway got clear on the main road before the steep Hollywood climb.

In that four-man group were Ben Walsh (Vitus Pro Cycling), Conor McCann (Inspired Cycle), Angus Fyffe (Caldwell Cycles Omagh) and Andy Maguire (Gerard-DHL).

When the leaders hit the gap for the second and final time, they still had about a minute.

It was at the bottom of the ascent that national hill climb champion Darnell Moore let rip.

The Caldwell Cycles man struck out and got clear solo in pursuit of those ahead. Trulock went after him and they combined on the climb for a time.

Trulock then succeeded in picking off and distancing those ahead of him to win; from McCann, Walsh, Moore and Conor Hennebry (Viner-Caremark-Pactimo) in that order.

In the A3-Junior race, Will Ryan of Chill-Insurance was best. He was best solo today from Stuart McCaughey (Phoenix CC) and John McCormack (Unattached)


Sat, Sept 1: Laragh Classic

Sponsored by Friends First

Promoted by St Tiernan’s CC

A1-A2 Race

  1. Dermot Trulock Lucan CRC
  2. Conor McCann Inspired Cycling
  3. Ben Walsh Vitus Pro Cycling
  4. Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh
  5. Conor Hennebry Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
  6. Liam Curley NRPT-Chill Insurance
  7. Aaron Doherty NRPT-Chill Insurance
  8. James Davenport Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  9. Luke Smith Viner-Caremark-Pactimo
  10. Sean Moore Gerard-DHL

Unplaced A2

  1. PJ Doogan Caldwell Cycles Omagh
  2. Nathan Keown North Down CC


Women’s Race

  1. Hannah Gruber-Stadler ARBO Racing
  2. Imogen Cotter Burren CC
  3. Lauren Creamer Brotherton Cycles
  4. Katharine Smyth Ballymena RC
  5. Eve McCrystal Garda CC-Richies Cycles
  6. Aine Donegan Scott-Orwell
  7. Isobel Oakes Smugglers CC
  8. Máire Claffey
  9. Monica Marconi Scott-Orwell
  10. Laura Campbell Ballymena RC


A3-Junior Race

  1. Will Ryan NRPT-Chill Insurance
  2. Stuart McCaughey Phoenix CC
  3. John McCormack Unattached
  4. Frank Billings Lucan CRC
  5. Balazs Galambos Scott Orwell
  6. PJ O’Halloran Unattached
  7. JP Sweetman St Tiernan’s CC
  8. Mark Fagan Navan Road Club
  9. Philip White Wexford Wheelers
  10. Oriol Carbo Henry J Lyons & Partners

Unplaced Junior

  1. Cian Dolan Unattached
  2. Liam Hanley Lucan CRC
  3. Chris Devine Rathoath CC