Conroy takes elite men’s title as Montgomery slips late in Cork

Posted on: January 13th, 2019

After a number of years of trying, David Conroy was a favourite for the title and he took the victory (All photos by Sean Rowe)


David Conroy wins Irish Cyclocross Championships


Having raced mainly on the European cyclocross scene in recent months, David Conroy made a triumphant return to Ireland in Cork on Sunday.

The Scott-Eurocycles rider was a clear winner of the elite men’s race at the National Cyclocross Championships at Fota Island.

At the end of the contest promoted by De Ronde Van Cork, Conroy had time to carry his bike across the line at the finish in celebration of his victory,

However, the man behind him, David Montgomery, was left to ponder what might have been. The former champion got a slow start and left himself with a lot of ground to make up after the opening couple of laps.

And while he got back to the head of the race and led Conroy with just one lap remaining, he slipped on one of the corners.

That saw him lose time as Conroy continued to press on. And with the eventual winner clearly in great form, there was no coming back for Montgomery.



Behind the leading pair; last year’s champion Darnell Moore (Caldwell Cycles) had to be content with the bronze medal this time around.

However, while Montgomery had the misfortune to slip as the race was coming down to the wire early on the final lap; Conroy had gone about his business with ruthless efficiency.

And having committed himself so fully to the progressing abroad in recent months, he deserved his victory.

From the gun it was Conroy who got the strongest and most assured start, last year’s junior champion Thomas Creighton (McConvey Cycles) also getting out of the traps very quickly.

However, Montgomery and Moore relinquished about 10 seconds to the eventual winner on the opening lap. And on the next circuit Conroy was a handful of seconds faster.

Showing the class that delivered him the title in the past, and a place on two Continental road teams, Montgomery put himself back into the contest on the third lap.

And from that point until his slip on the final circuit, he and Conroy were evenly matched. However, while a mistake under pressure eventually separated the two leaders, it was Conroy who held his shape to ensure he took the gold.

At the end of seven laps and 54 minutes of racing, Conroy took his first elite title from Montgomery by 29 seconds.

Moore was another 19 seconds down followed by Paul O’Reilly of UCD-FitzCycles, 37 seconds further adrift.

Creighton placed 5th another five seconds down and Niall Davis ( rounded out the top six 29 seconds later.


National Cyclocross Championships 2019

Fota Island, Co Cork

Promoted by De Ronde Van Cork

Sun, Jan 13: Men’s Race

  1. CONROY, David Scott 53:57
  2. MONTGOMERY, David Un-Attached Ulster 54:26
  3. MOORE, Darnell Team Caldwell Cycles 54:45
  4. O’REILLY, Paul UCD Cycling Club 55:22
  5. CREIGHTON, Thomas McConvey Cycles 55:27
  6. DAVIS, Niall 55:56
  7. MAES, Richard Killarney Cycling Club 56:06
  8. BOYD, Graham McConvey Cycles 56:11
  9. O’BRIEN, Paidi Killarney Cycling Club 56:29
  10. FYFFE, Angus Team Caldwell Cycles 57:00
  11. SLATTERY, Matt Killarney Cycling Club 57:05
  12. KINNING, Glenn Kinning Cycles Cycling Club 57:48
  13. MCCARTER, Darragh Donegal Bay Cycling Club 57:52
  14. O’CONNELL, Gavin Team WORC 58:15
  15. AHERN, Eoin Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 58:23
  16. O’REGAN, Timothy Team WORC 58:45
  17. BARRY, Richard St. Finbarrs CC 58:54
  18. KISSANE, Conor Killarney Cycling Club 58:57
  19. ROCHE, Philip Team WORC 59:15
  20. MCKEE, Gareth Banbridge CC 59:28
  21. MCKINLEY, Mark Newry Wheelers CC 59:51
  22. MELIA, Brian Team WORC 1:02:10
  23. KENEFICK, Tomas Cork Triathlon Club 1:02:35
  24. O’FLYNN, Ronan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 1:02:46
  25. MCCANN, Aaron Drogheda Wheelers -1 lap