Killarney’s Kissane makes no mistake at new-look Lacey Cup

Posted on: March 9th, 2019

Conor Kissane wins the Lacey Cup this afternoon. Snow forced the race to be abandoned last week but promoting club Tralee Manor West BC did well to reschedule it so quickly. And now Kissane has kept the title in the Kingdom (Photo: George Doyle).


His may not be a new name in dispatches and he’s not even new to podiums at major races, but Conor Kissane has landed his biggest road race win at the Lacey Cup today.

And after knocking on the door, and landing some very nice results, in recent years this is his biggest win and something of a breakthrough.

The Killarney CC man had too much in the legs for his breakaway companions at the end of the rescheduled contest, run off a new course as the usual one was not available.

In the end he won it well and had plenty of time to get his hands in the air and enjoy the moment.

Just behind was Matthew Sparrow (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo) and Paul Kennedy (Newcastle West CC).

And only a few lengths behind Kennedy came Tom Moriarty, a 16-year-old from O’Leary Stone Kanturk.

Moriarty got up for 4th in big company in his first elite race. He was riding U16 last year and is now a first year junior.

Kissane has been Munster hill climb champion and Munster road race champion and has also medaled in the national hill climb championships three times.

Last year he put in a storming performance out front on the climbs of the queen stage of Rás Mumhan. And now his rise through the ranks has passed a milestone with a win at the Lacey Cup.

Further coverage to come.


Sat, March 9th: Lacey Cup

Promoted by Tralee Manor West BC

A1-A2-A3 Race

  1. Conor Kissane Killarney CC
  2. Matthew Sparrow Dan Morrissey Pactimo
  3. Paul Kennedy Newcastlewest CC
  4. Tom Moriarty O’Leary Stone Kanturk CC
  5. Cathal Purcell Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  6. Richard Meaney Covey Wheelers Westport
  7. Arminas Meskauskus Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  8. John Brosnan Killarney CC
  9. Cian Smailes Tralee Manor West BC
  10. John Aherne De Ronde Van Cork


A4 Race

  1. Dan Murphy Sliabh Luachra CC
  2. Richie O’Sullivan Chain Gang CC
  3. Jason Costello Killorglin CC
  4. Paudie O’Sullivan Tralee Manor West BC
  5. Sean Flahive McNally Swords CC
  6. Patrick Gallagher Blarney CC
  7. Joe Roche Tralee Manor West BC
  8. Declan Shine Blarney CC

Leading Woman

  1. Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare CC