Swinand (49) smashes Irish elite hour record in Colorado

Posted on: November 22nd, 2016


Greg Swinand produced a storming effort to shatter the Irish Elite and Masters record in the Colorado Springs velodrome in the US. The Aqua Blue rider was supported throughout his effort by teammate and coach Matteo Cigala.


By Brian Canty

Multiple Irish Masters champion Greg Swinand blasted his way to a new Irish elite and masters hour record in the US overnight.

The Aquablue rider performed his effort in the USA Olympic velodrome in Colorado Springs, near Denver.

He completed a whopping 46.895 kilometres, a significant 729 metres more than the previous elite record held by Tommy Evans.

Evans set a very high benchmark for the elite category in 1999 when he recorded 46.166 kilometres. And last year John Madden did 45.799 kilometres to set a new Masters record.

But last night, Swinand bettered both those marks and it’s a real credit to him as he has spent the last weeks training at high altitude in Colorado in a bid to have himself in the best shape possible.

Indeed, he has left no stone unturned in his bid to succeed and as well as training at altitude he enlisted the services of former Italian U23 international turned adopted Irishman Matteo Cigala in a coaching and advisory role.

Swinand trained in a hypoxic chamber whilst in Ireland last month and has sought every possible advantage to allow him perform at his best.

That effort has been rewarded with a distance that will be extremely hard to better.

Swinand had been battling a saddle sore in recent days but clearly he was able to manage that problem.

And the new marker he has put down, along with Madden’s excellent ride, John Lynch taking on the paced record and Colin Lynch breaking the world paracycling hour record, have all combined to generate new interest in the hour record in Ireland.

We’ll get a word with Swinand as soon as he draws breath.


Ireland gained a new world hour record holder last month; Colin Lynch absolutely smashing the old marker set in 1999.