JB Murphy scalps quality riders to win ‘Bobby Power’ in Carrick

Posted on: March 17th, 2019

JB Murphy has won the Bobby Power Memorial in Carrick-on-Suir ahead of quality riders on a day when the races split to pieces (Photos by John Hammer)


JB Murphy has shown the legs that carried him to junior Worlds and Europeans medals on the track by taking the Bobby Power Memorial in Carrick-on-Suir.

The young Kildare rider did it the hard way today; getting clear in a breakaway of real quality but beating them for the victory.

After an aggressive opening lap of six had failed to cause lasting splits, what would prove a decisive breakaway would get clear.

It contained 12 riders and quickly pulled out a gap in excess of 1:30.

And while efforts were made by a number of chasers to get across, none of those was successful.

Up front the breakaway would split as some of the riders fell back to a four-man chasing group.

However, Richie Maes (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) and yesterday’s winner in Limerick, Paul Kennedy of Newcastle West Cycling Club, attacked the breakaway.

They forged clear for a period but were caught by the remains of the breakaway.

And then it was the turn of another five to go clear; eventual winner JB Murphy (Murphy Surveys Kilcullen) among them.


Fintan Ryan leads the breakaway from JB Murphy, Jamie Blanchfield and Sean Moore.


He was in good company in the shape of Fintan Ryan, Sean Moore (Bio-DHL-FR Services), Jamie Blanchfield (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) and Sean Hahessy (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo).

By the time they had most of lap four completed, the leading five had 1½ minutes on the next group on the road.

And with some seriously big engines in that front group, it was looking unlikely that anyone would get back on terms with them.

A three-man chase group did its best and closed the gap significantly, but in the end it was JB Murphy who took the win.

In the A2 race Neil Hodges of Killarney Cycling Club took victory from a four-man breakaway.

The A4 race saw George Duffy (Lucan CRC) win from Seán Heaslip Owens (Dublin University CC) and PJ Gallagher (Blarney CC).


Sun, March 17th: St Patrick’s Day Races

Promoted by Carrick Wheelers

Carrick-on-Suir, Co Tipperary

A1-A2 Bobby Power Memorial

  1. JB Murphy Murphy Surveys Kilcullen CC
  2. Fintan Ryan Kingspan Track
  3. Sean Moore Bio-DHL-FR Services
  4. Sean Hahessy Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  5. Jamie Blanchfield Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  6. Richard Maes Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  7. Dillon Corkery Bio-DHL-FR Services
  8. Conor Hennebry Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  9. Greg Swinand Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  10. Stephen Murray Strata 3-VeloRevolution


A3-Junior Race

  1. Neil Hodges Killarney CC
  2. Alex Sparrow Bandon CC
  3. Bernard Sweeney Killorglin CC
  4. Conor Coleman Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  5. Martin Casey Ossary CC
  6. John Priest Lucan CRC
  7. Dylan Kennedy Sliabh Luachra
  8. Martin O’Loughlin Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  9. Michael Hennessy Fermoy CC
  10. Aaron Wade Comeragh CC


A4 Race

  1. George Duffy Lucan CRC
  2. Sean Heaslip Owens Dublin University CC
  3. Patrick Gallagher Blarney CC
  4. Michael Farrell Waterford CC
  5. David O’Flaherty Unattached
  6. Unknown Barrow Wheelers
  7. Sean Walsh De Ronde van Cork
  8. Sean Flahive McNally Swords CC