Sherlock signals Nationals intent with win in Leinster Champs TT

Posted on: June 15th, 2012

Ryan Sherlock


Ryan Sherlock has taken the Leinster A1 Time Trial Championships just one week out from his assault on the National TT event in Clonmel, Co Tipperary.

The Cycleways rider has enjoyed a very strong season thus far and following a good showing in the An Post Ras last month, where he finished 14th overall, his next big aim is the National Time Trial Championships.

In preparation for that race next Thursday, he took victory in the 10 mile Leinster TT title race promoted by Cuchulainn CC on the course between Dundalk and Castlebellingham in Co Louth last evening, Thursday.

With riders facing far from ideal conditions in the shape of high winds and heavy rain, Sherlock was perhaps pushed a little closer than he would have expected.

He clocked a winning time of 20:27; some six seconds faster than Bryan McCrystal of the promoting club. Andrew Meehan of DID Dunboyne showed his testing ability is still very much in tact, taking bronze in the A1 event in a time of 22:22.

While McCrystal came painfully close to what would have been a great home win, it was the lead performance in what was a very good night for the host club, which took no fewer than five medals.

Ian Richardson of UCD took the A2 race in a time of 21:16. Owen Martin of Cuchulainn CC took the A3 title in 22:42, while Mel Spath (Cycleways) took the women’s title in a time of 23:03; the eleventh quickest of the field on the night.

Aidan Wall of Navan RC took the junior event in a time of 23:17, while Gerry McCabe of Cuchulainn CC took the vets title with an excellent 21:57; 4th quickest of all the riders on the night.


A1 Championship

Position Rider Club/Team Time
1st Ryan Sherlock Cycleways 20:27
2nd Bryan McCrystal Cuchulainn CC 20:33
3rd Andrew Meehan DID 22:22


A2 Championship

Position Rider Club/Team Time
1st Ian Richardson UCD 21:16
2nd Enda Connolly Garda CC 22:05
3rd Art Mac Manusa South Dublin RC 22:15


A3 Championship

Position Rider Club/Team Time
1st Owen Martin Cuchulainn CC 22:42
2nd Cian Delaney Stamullen RC 22:37
3rd Peter Tomany Cuchulainn CC 23:13


Women’s Championship

Position Rider Club/Team Time
1st Melanie Spath Cycleways 23:03
2nd Eve McCrystal Garda CC 23:53
3rd Orla Hendron Orwell Wheelers 24:09


Junior Championship

Position Rider Club/Team Time
1st Aidan Wall Navan RC 23:17
2nd Craig Arrigan Orwell Wheelers 23:30
3rd Jordan Flood Cuchulainn CC 27:23


Veteran Championship

Position Rider Club/Team Time
1st Gerry McCabe Cuchulainn CC 21:57
2nd Mick Hennessy Fixx Coffee House 23:24
3rd Paul Atkinson Swords CC 23:44


Full Result

1st Ryan Sherlock A1 20:27
2nd Bryan McCrystal A1 20:33
3rd Ian Richardson A2 21:16
4th Gerry McCabe Vets 21:57
5th Enda Connolly A2 22:05
6th Art Mac Manusa A2 22:15
7th Andrew Meehan A1 22:22
8th Colm Quinn A1 22:24
9th Owen Martin A3 22:37
10th Myles McCorry A2 22:42
11th Melanie Spath Women 23:03
12th Cian Delaney A3 23:13
13th Peter Tomany A3 23:17
14th Aidan Wall Junior 23:17
15th Mick Hennessy Vets 23:24
16th Craig Arrigan Junior 23:30
17th Paul Atkinson Vets 23:44
18th Eoin O’Shea Vets 23:49
19th Robert Caraher Club 23:53
20th Eve McCrystal Women 23:53
21st Orla Hendron Women 24:09
22nd Denis O Brien Vets 24:12
23rd Billy Walsh A3 24:30
24th Fergal Cunningham Club 24:37
25th Niall Casey Club 24:47
26th Colin Teevan Club 25:33
27th Geraldine Gill Women 26:10
28th Karol Lynskey Club 26:18
29th Richard Murphy Club 26:19
30th Andrew Cunningham Club 26:23
31st Kevin Byrne Club 26:57
32nd Celine McPhillips Women 26:59
33rd Ruaidhri Stewart Club 27:03
34th Suzy Macken Club 27:22
35th Jordan Flood Junior 27:23
36th Aaron McCann Junior 28:11
37th Michael Bent Club 28:26
38th Gerard McCaffrey Club 28:35
39th John McLoughlin Club 28:46
40th Brendan Neary Club 28:58
41st Declan Whelan Club 30:01
42nd Stephen McKenna Club 30:41
43rd Deirdre Armstrong Club 32:28
44th Lisa Neary Club 33:04
45th Ed Lenox-Conyngham Club 33:13