Mel Spath takes elite women’s national road race title from Siobhan McNamara

Posted on: June 22nd, 2013

Melanie Spath (Team TIBCO) takes the elite Women’s National Road Race Championship from a group sprint in Carlingford, Co Louth; with Siobhan McNamara (DID Electrical Racing Team) and Mary Costello (Alliance Environmental). Photo by Adrian O’Connor of


The champion from last year was quickest from a  group of 16 riders at the finish, with Siobhan McNamara (DID Electrical Racing) in the silver medal position and Mary Costello in the bronze medal spot.

More later.


Elite National Women’s Road Race

1. Mel Spath (Team TIBCO)

2. Siobhan McNamara (DID Electrical Racing Team)

3. Mary Costello (Alliance Environmental)

4. Lydia Boylan (Unattached)

5. Tonya Moran (Black Rose Racing)

6. Caroline Ryan (Garda CC – Richies Bike Store)