Top tester Eileen Burns storms to blistering 25 mile TT time

Posted on: June 6th, 2017

Top tester Eileen Burns storms to blistering 25 mile TT time

Top tester Eileen Burns storms to blistering 25 mile TT time

Eileen Burns has blasted to an incredible new time for the 25 mile TT (Photo: Roger Vanderbosch)


Eileen Burns has stormed to one of fastest ever 25 mile TT times by an Irish woman over the weekend.

The Ballymena Road Club rider’s 52:47 is the first time she has broken the 53 minute mark.

Only the current Irish 25 mile record holder Anna Turvey has gone faster.

She did a 51:24 last July to break the Irish record previously held by Burns.

Burns set her new time, some 20 seconds faster than her previous best set last April, in south Wales on Sunday.

Riding the event on the R25-3H course at Aberdare she finished 2nd in the combined women’s, junior and Masters event.

It was won by Katie Allan of Draz2Zero in a time of 51:55. Allen’s average speed was 28.89 miles per hour. Burns clocked 28.41 miles per hour.

The performance of the Irish rider is all the more remarkable as she was hit by a van out training on May 5th.

She suffered ligament damage and has been strapped up ever since. Her grandfather also died at the weekend and she has dedicated her result to him.

We’ll have a long overdue interview with Burns in coming days.


Sun, June 4th: R25-3H, Aberdare, Wales (25M TT)

1 Kate Allan Drag2Zero 51:55 28.893 Mph
2 Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club 52:47 28.418 Mph
3 Josh Griffiths Bristol South Cycling Club 53:31 28.029 Mph
4 Daniel Davies Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club 53:38 27.968 Mph
5 Lewis donovan Bike Doctor 54:29 27.532 Mph
6 Danny Baker National Ventilation – LSEA CRT / Notaro Windows 56:44 26.44 Mph
7 Sophie Household Vertex Biemme RT 56:57 26.339 Mph
8 Alex John Tredz Bikes 57:05 26.278 Mph
9 Chris Melia Born to Bike – Bridgtown Cycles 57:10 26.239 Mph
10 Crystal Spearman NOPINZ 57:55 25.9 Mph
11 Nadine Cannon VeloSistas TT Team 58:03 25.84 Mph
12 Andrea Parish VeloSistas TT Team 58:11 25.781 Mph
13 Danuta Tinn Maidenhead & District CC 58:14 25.759 Mph
14 Ricky Stephens Guernsey Velo Club 58:50 25.496 Mph
15 Jordan Jones Sportzmad 59:20 25.281 Mph
16 Philip Sims Newport Phoenix CC 59:22 25.267 Mph
17 Richard Bennett Newbury RC 59:33 25.189 Mph
18 Alistair Morgan Pontypool Road Cycling Club 59:50 25.07 Mph
19 Martin Lee Bury Clarion CC 59:55 25.035 Mph
20 Andrew Newey Ribble Valley C&RC 1:00:01 24.993 Mph
21 Brad Davies Bynea Cycling Club 1:00:43 24.705 Mph
22 Emma Angove Chippenham & District Wheelers 1:00:46 24.685 Mph
23 Ray Perkins Clevedon & District Road Club 1:00:57 24.611 Mph
24 Susan Shook Bush Healthcare CRT 1:01:41 24.318 Mph
25 Lynn Hanson Seacroft Whs 1:02:07 24.148 Mph