Ireland’s Eileen Burns powers to top Celtic Series result in Wales

Posted on: March 6th, 2017

Ireland’s Eileen Burns powers to top Celtic Series result in Wales

Ireland's Eileen Burns powers to top Celtic Series result in Wales

Eileen Burns has taken a really strong win in Wales, where she comprehensively also beat most of the men in the field (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Ireland’s Eileen Burns has powered her way to victory in the first round of the Celtic Series in Wales.

The Ballymena Road Club rider was a clear winner of the women’s event but was also eight fastest, of 72 riders, in the mixed male and female event.

The Merthyr CC 10 Mile TT event was the first round of nine in the series.

Burns clocked a time of 22:34 in unfavourably conditions, some 1:49 faster than the next best woman in the field, Stephanie Post (VeloSistas TT Team).

The runner-up’s team mate Nadine Cannon was next, 2.43 off the pace of the flying Burns.

The men’s race was won by Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) in a time of 19:22. He was a full 1:30 ahead of Christopher Gibbard (Bynea Cycling) in 2nd place.

Eileen Burns is a road and track international and is one of the very best women on the Irish scene.

She set a new 50 mile TT national record last year, of 1:52:13, and is the former 10 mile TT record holder.


Sun, March 5th: Merthyr CC 10 Mile TT

Round 1, Celtic Series, Wales

1 Kieron Davies DRAG2ZERO 00:19:22
2 Christopher Gibbard Bynea Cycling Club 00:20:52
3 Luke Cornish Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club 00:20:59
4 Graeme Boswell Cardiff Ajax CC 00:21:59
5 Christopher Holman Team Bottrill / HSS Hire 00:22:01
6 Nic Cleave Swansea Wheelers/CS Abertawe 00:22:26
7 John Regan Pembrokeshire Velo 00:22:28
8 Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club 00:22:34
9 Rob Sanderson Cardiff Ajax CC 00:22:35
10 Andrew Rowles Cardiff Ajax CC 00:22:35
11 Richard Long Merthyr CC 00:22:39
12 Chris Massey Team Bottrill / HSS Hire 00:22:53
13 Paul Hayward Cwmcarn Paragon Road Club 00:22:59
14 Andy Davies Cardiff Jif 00:23:06
15 Joshua Lewis Bike Doctor 00:23:09
16 Tom Arnold Team Bottrill / HSS Hire 00:23:26
17 Nathan Leaves NFTO Race Club 00:23:27
18 Rod Hicks Port Talbot Whs CC 00:23:28
19 Chris Fishbourne Abercynon Road Club 00:23:29
20 Wayne Thomas Pontypool Road Cycling Club 00:23:39
32 Stephanie Post VeloSistas TT Team 00:24:23
42 Nadine Cannon VeloSistas TT Team 00:25:17
48 Danielle Flawn Tredz Bikes 00:25:47