Full results Tipp Wheelers GP

Posted on: July 16th, 2017

Killarney CC’s Eoin O’Connell escaped from a big break with Jamie Blanchfield, beating the Pandit Carrick Wheelers rider on the line, their 14 former breakaway companions fighting out the remaining placings. 

O’Connell pips Blanchfield as breakaway wins Tipp Wheelers GP

Killarney CC’s Eoin O’Connell landed the inaugural Tipp Wheelers GP in Golden on Sunday, on a day when the breakaway won.

An undulationg course with multiple drags and false flats, welcomed the riders, prompting attacks from the gun in the main Willie Slattery Memorial Cup.

By halfway in the 100km test a break of 16 had formed, but its size played against it and those within attacked each other, O’Connell getting clear with Jamie Blanchfield (Panduit Carrick Wheelers).

Their gap quickly spread to 25 seconds, those behind intent on bridging across, and the bunch behind never ceasing chasing.

A lack of cohesion in the break allowed O’Connell and Blanchfield to stay clear for a two-up sprint to the line, O’Connell coming out on top.

Cathal Purcell (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) and Cathal Moynihan (Tralee Manor West iBike) bounced out of the break to nab third and fourth, the remaining places being mopped up by the rest of the break – the bunch following close behind.

Sun, July 16th: Tipp Wheelers GP

Promoted by Tipp Wheelers

Golden, Co Tipperary

Willie Slattery Memorial Cup (A1/A2) – 100km

1. Eoin O’Connell Killarney CC
2. Jamie Blanchfield Panduit Carrick Wheelers
3. Cathal Purcell Panduit Carrick Wheelers
4. Cathal Moynihan Tralee Manor West iBike
5. Colm Sheehan Blarney CC
6. Constantine Bartels Waterford Racing
7. Simon Ryan Strata 3 Velo Revolution
8. Daragh O’Mahoney O’Leary Stone Kanturk
9. Richard Maes Killarney CC
10. John Hodge Dungaree CC

He didn’t win, but Cathal Purcell (fifth wheel) still gave his fans a thrill, blowing a kiss as he went through the start-finish in the break. He finished third in A1/2

Eoin Bresnan Memorial (A3) – 75km

1. Stephen Geragthy Burren Racing Team
2. Shem Cullen Panduit Carrick Wheelers
3. Richard O’Brien Killarney CC
4. Andrew Farrell Wexford Wheelers
5. Anthony Gahan Limerick CC
6. Micheal Shine McCarthy
7. Micheal Looby Strata 3 Velo Revolution
8. James O’Connor Tipperary Wheelers
9. Brendan O’Sullivan Killorglin CC
10. Pierse Butler UDCC

A4 Race – 75km

1. Armines Meskauskas – South Tipp CC
2. Joe Ahern Cashel- Rock Peddlers
3. Sean O’Riordan – Valley Wheelers
4. Shane White – Raparee (Dundrum)
5. Martin Byrne – Unattached
6. Kevin Dunne – Cycle 4 Sick Children
7. Dwayne Ahern – Unattached
8. Gordon Booth – Laois