Amy Brice takes first win for DID Electrical with long-range sprint in Drogheda

Posted on: April 22nd, 2013

There was plenty of aggression from the women’s bunch but it still came down to a group sprint



By Caroline Martinez

Amy Brice took the DID Electrical Ladies Racing Team’s first win in its debut race at round two of the Joe Daly Cycles Women’s National League yesterday in Drogheda. Brice claimed the victory with a long-range sprint launched 500 metres from the finish, with Tonya Moran (Black Rose Racing) taking second followed by Sandra Fitzgerald (Garda CC).

The pace was high early on with back-to-back attacks instigated by Orwell Wheelers and Adamstown. Each attack shed a few riders off the back of the bunch but none were strong enough to establish a breakaway.

The rain made for a cagey second lap of four but it was the opportunity Orla Hendron and Charlotte McDonald chose to make a break for it. However, the Orwell duo were soon reeled in by Amy Brice and Anne Dalton (DID Electrical) who were clearly intent on closing down any move their new team wasn’t represented in.

At the start of the third lap DID’s Siobhan McNamara attempted a move of her own and launched a solo attack. She succeeded in pulling out a significant gap but unfortunately missed a turn and ended up off course. Her team mates did not realise what had happened up ahead and another lap would pass before they found out McNamara was no longer in the race.

Coming into the final kilometres, the group was still intact and it was clear the race would be decided in a sprint. With over 500 metres to go Brice attacked, taking advantage of the drag to launch her sprint. Sandra Fitzgerald (Garda CC) responded immediately followed by the rest of the depleted peloton.

Tonya Moran (Black Rose) was strong enough to pip Fitzgerald to the line, with those two taking second and third respectively, with Sandra Telford of Orwell Wheelers finishing fourth.

Brice said the race was an aggressive one, with a large number of riders looking to shake things up.

“It was a relatively flat course so there was a lot of attacks, but nothing really stuck. It came down to a sprint. I attacked at 500 meters to go so it was a long sprint in a bit of a drag. I could see Sandra (Fitzgerald) going for it so I made sure I went off. It paid it in the end. I’m happy to take the first win for DID Electrical.”

“My team mate Siobhan (McNamara) attacked and she got a fair bit of distance and we were delighted. We thought she was away for a full lap but we released that she had taken the wrong turn.”

With victory in the opening round a couple of weeks ago and her third place finish of yesterday, Sandra Fitzgerald retains the Joe Daly Cycles Women’s National League leader’s jersey for at least another week. Round three will take place next Sunday as part of the Waller Cup in Bohermeen.



Joe Daly Cycles Women’s National League

Round 2 Result

1 Amy Brice, DID Electrical RT

2 Tonya Moran, Blackrose CC

3 Sandra Fitzgerald, Garda CC

4 Sandra Telford, Orwell DTC

5 Caroline Ryan, Garda CC

6 Clare Gillespie, BRC