Marcus Christie and Eileen Burns fly to Irish national pursuit titles

Posted on: August 27th, 2017

Marcus Christie Eileen Burns pursuit

Marcus Christie and Eileen Burns were clear winners of the individual pursuit titles at the National Track Championships in Dublin (All photos with thanks to Tom Horan)


Marcus Christie & Eileen Burns Irish pursuit champions




Marcus Christie and Eileen Burns have taken the individual pursuit titles at the National Track Championships.

The two top road TT riders have taken their power onto the Sundrive Road velodrome in Dublin with a Midas touch.

And both of them topped podium line-ups of real quality.

In the men’s race, eventual winner Christie (Performance SBR) was fastest in qualifying. His 4.46.877 was well over one second ahead of Ian Richardson’s 4.48.077.

National criterium champion Marc Potts was 3rd and top track rider Darragh Zaidan was 4th.

In the gold medal ride-off, both Marcus Christie and Richardson went faster than they did in qualifying.

But Christie still had the upper hand on the UCD-Fitzcycles man. Christie clocked a 4.45.180 to Richardson’s 4.47.394.


Marcus Christie Eileen Burns pursuit

Marcus Christie Eileen Burns pursuit

Marcus Christie Eileen Burns pursuit


Likewise, the bronze medal ride-off followed the pattern of the qualifying round; Potts (Neon Velo) faster than Zaidan (Arcane Cycling Team) to take the final medal.

In the women’s qualifying, the battle was tight at the top.

Eileen Burns was fastest, with 3.54.655. And Lydia Gurley ( was 2nd, on 3.54.909.

In 3rd place was Fiona Guihen (Black Rose Racing) with 4.05.590. And Mia Griffin (Talent Transfer Team) was 4th with 4.07.875.

But unlike the men’s event; the medals did not follow the qualifying pattern.

Eileen Burns showed real class in going almost two seconds quicker in the gold medal ride-off that she had in qualifying.

Her 3.52.870 was well over two seconds quicker than Gurley and she took gold.

But in the ride-off between Griffen and Guihen, it was Griffen who got the better of her rival. That was despite being slower in the qualifying and so she took the bronze.


Men’s 4km Individual Pursuit

Qualifying Round

1 Marcus Christie PerformanceSBR 4.46.877
2 Ian Richardson UCD Cycling Club 4.48.077
3 Marc Potts Neon Velo 4.50.852
4 Darragh Zaidan Arcane Cycling Team 4.52.302
5 Conn McDunphy Team Raleigh GAC 4.55.062
6 Fintan Ryan 4.49.021
7 Valdis Andersons Scott Orwell Wheelers 5.04.579
8 Matthew McCullagh Sundrive Track Team 5.09.919
9 Kyle Crotty Arcane Cycling Team 5.11.539
10 Oisin Hogan Sundrive Track Team 5.17.023
11 Freddie Steevens Scott Orwell Wheelers 5.19.481
12 Ross Collins McNally Swords CC 5.20.232
13 Andre Grennell Arcane Cycling Team 5.29.119
14 Nigel Forde Galway Bay CC 5.36.473
DSQ Daniel McIlroy Scott Orwell Wheelers
DNS Gareth Rogers Dromore CC
DNS Richard Grant Sundrive Track Team
DNS Sam Gilmore Arcane Cycling Team
DNS Thomas O’Brien Sundrive Track Team


Women’s 3km Individual Pursuit

Qualifying Round

1 Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club 3.54.655
2 Lydia Gurley 3.54.909
3 Mia Griffin Talent Transfer Team VeloFem 4.07.875
4 Fiona Guihen Black Rose Racing 4.05.590
5 Deborah Madden Sundrive Track Club 4.13.641
6 Laura Tighe Talent Transfer Team VeloFem 4.13.949
7 Susie Mitchell Sundrive Track Team 4.14.435
8 Hilary Hughes Talent Transfer Team VeloFem 4.15.354
9 Sofie Loscher Sundrive Track Team 4.15.838
10 Imogen Cotter Talent Transfer Team VeloFem 4.18.371
11 Orla Walsh Scott Orwell Wheelers 4.20.652
12 Orla Fox Talent Transfer Team VeloFem 4.21.018
13 Grace Irvine Arcane Cycling Team 4.22.979
14 Róisín Kennedy Arcane Cycling Team 4.27.186
15 Anne Coleman Sundrive Track Team 4.31.282
16 Jennifer Neenan NRPT 4.35.631
17 Agnieska Samsel Clontarf CC 4.47.018
18 Caoimhe Ivory Bray Wheelers 4.52.630
19 Susan Fagan Clontarf CC 5.03.991
DSQ Claire Ní Reachtagáin Talent Transfer Team VeloFem
DNS Noreen Mallon Arcane Cycling Team DNS
DNS Eimer McMullan Talent Transfer Team VeloFem