Video: Sam Bennett gets closer at Giro, but Gaviria too quick

Posted on: May 19th, 2017

Video: Sam Bennett gets closer at Giro, but Gaviria too quick

Video: Sam Bennett gets closer at Giro, but Gaviria too quick

Sam Bennett looked like he had his first Grand Tour stage won today.  But Fernando Gaviria, far left, came with a massive late surge to deny the Irishman.


So sure were Sam Bennett’s team mates that he had today’s stage of the Giro d’Italia won they started celebrating.

However, while the Irish rider and his team did a fantastic job, Fernando Gaviria (QuickStep) was simply too quick.

The Colombia has now won four stages on this race. And his late surge today, when Bennett looked like he had victory in the bag, was simply unbeatable.

Bennett was forced to settle for 2nd place, adding that result to his three 3rd places so far. Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) rounded out the podium today.

“Like I said yesterday, the team did an amazing job and also today,” Bennett said after the stage

“We rode perfectly into the finish I don’t know what happened, the headwind was quite strong but I missed the victory by bike length.

“Gaviria came from behind and I couldn’t react anymore. I am disappointed but also happy with the second place.

“However, I got fourth podium results in this 100th edition at the Giro d´Italia which is really special anyway.”

Bennett Bora-hansgrohe sports director Jens Zemke said the team was very pleased with the Irishman, adding Gaviria was simply in great form.

“With this 2nd place from Sam, we can be satisfied, because Gaviria has at the fastest legs at the moment and we need also luck to beat him,” said Zemke.

“From now on the Giro starts for the GC boys and there it will become hard for us to the stand on the sunny side, but we will continue our great riding style.



Stage 13:  Reggio Emilia – Tortona (167km)

1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors 3:47:45
2 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
5 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
6 Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
7 Sacha Modolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
8 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott
9 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
10 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
11 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb
12 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
13 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Wilier Triestina
14 Ivan Savitckii (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo
15 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott
149 Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Sky 0:02:07