McCluskey and Montgomery take strong wins in Donard Park

Posted on: November 27th, 2017

Ulster Cyclocross Series

Two form riders – David Montgomery and Beth McCluskey – looked in very good condition as the national championships now begin to edge closer. They took very clear wins in the Ulster Cyclocross Series (All photos with thanks to David McVeigh – The Belgian Project)


McCluskey, Montgomery win at Ulster Cyclocross Series


Beth McCluskey and David Montgomery took very strong wins at the Ulster Cyclocross Series yesterday.

In the women’s race and men’s A race they blasted away from the start into early leads. And for both it was a question of continuing to power down the course all the way.

McCluskey (Team Jadan) was the only rider in the women’s field to go around the opening lap in under 10 minutes.

She ducked under that marker by a single second. As a result she was immediately 25 seconds ahead of the best of the rest.

Behind her, Trudy Brown (VC Glendale) soon settled into 2nd place behind the flying leader.

And behind Brown there was a great battle between Julie Rea (Phoenix CC) and Rachel Irvine (Bike House CC) over the opening laps.

It was Brown who would complete the podium; proving too strong in the second half of the four-lap race.


Ulster Cyclocross Series

The men’s race starts; eventual winner David Montgomery is on the rider in the right of those with pink bikes.


But up ahead McCluskey simply had too much for the others in the field from start to finish.

And she would extend her lead by between 20 and 30 seconds on Brown on every loop of the course.

In the end, McCluskey had exactly 1:30 in hand on runner-up Brown. Rea was another 28 seconds back, with Irvine just five seconds further back in 4th.

In the men’s race, Montgomery would win out from Graham Boyd (McConvey Cycles) and Barry Kellett (Dromara CC).

Montgomery took 20 seconds out of the other challengers on the opening lap. And he continued in that vein.

Over the second eight-minute lap he extended his lead on Boyd by another 17 seconds.

And while the gains were smaller for the remainder of the race the gap continued to grow.

At the finish Montgomery took the win by 1:29 from Boyd, with Kellett another 47 seconds back in 3rd place.

And after the nine rounds in the series; Montgomery claimed victory from Boyd and Kellett.

In the women’s series, Brown won from junior rider Niamh McKiverigan (Powerhouse Sport) and Rea.


Round 9 Ulster Cyclocross Series

Nov 26th: Donard Park, Newcastle

Men’s A Race

1 David Montgomery Unattached 00:56:07 Senior
2 Graham Boyd McConvey Cycles 00:57:36 Senior
3 Barry Kellett Dromara Cycling Club 00:58:23 Senior
4 Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh 00:58:24 Espoir
5 Alan Bingham Cuchulainn CC 00:58:55 M40
6 Ross Collins McNally Swords CC 00:59:08 Senior
7 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC 01:00:21 Senior
8 Brendan Doherty VC Glendale 01:00:27 M40
9 Lee Harvey Kinning Cycles 01:00:31 Junior
10 Aiden McDonald Cuchulainn CC 01:00:42 M50-M60


Women’s Race

1 Beth MCCLUSKEY Team Jadan 39:21
2 Trudy BROWN VC Glendale 40:51
3 Julie REA Phoenix CC 41:19
4 Rachel IRVINE The Bike House CC 41:24
5 Niamh MCKIVERIGAN Powerhouse Sport 41:58
6 Diane WILSON Dromara Cycling Club 42:16
7 Helen WHITE Stamullen RC 42:46
8 Rachel MCBRIDE Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club -1 lap


Cyclocross B Race

1 Jonathan Graham Velo Club Mourne 00:46:19
2 Adam Cunningham Velo Club Mourne 00:47:10
3 Fraser Duncan The Bike House CC 00:47:29
4 Paul Ferguson The Bike House CC 00:47:33
5 Mark Gordon Newry Wheelers CC 00:47:52
6 Brian Wilson Dromara Cycling Club 00:48:09
7 Sean Maguire VC Glendale 00:48:19
8 Sean McCourt VC Glendale 00:48:55
9 Matthew Sinton Portadown Cycling Club 00:49:19
10 Darren McCann Dromara Cycling Club 00:49:26


MTB Support Race

1 Scott Maitland Killinchy Cycling Club 00:45:57
2 Gavin Thompson Maryland Wheelers 00:49:24
3 Brian McAuley unattached 00:50:37
4 Denver Irvine unattached 00:54:40
5 Michael Foley Dromara Cycling Club 00:56:01
6 David Richardson Trail Demons CC -1 lap
7 Cayman Hardy Shelbourne/Orchard CC -1 lap


Women’s MTB Support Race

1 Alison MCMULLAN Unattached 35:24
2 Karen WYNNE Foyle CC 42:14
3 Debbie BOYD Apollo Cycling Team 42:41


U16 Boy’s Race

1 Ciaran DIXON Phoenix CC 26:31
2 Donal WALSH AAA Cycling 26:40
3 Somhairle OWENS FISHER Omagh Wheelers 26:47
4 Dean HARVEY Kinning Cycles 27:26
5 Ben WILSON Dromara Cycling Club 27:38
5 Cathal GALLAGHER Errigal Cycling Club 29:51


U16 Girl’s Race

1 Darcey HARKNESS Carn Wheelers 32:15
2 Maria MCALLISTER Island Wheelers 32:56