ASEA’s Damien Shaw blitzes breakaway men in brutal Cycleways Cup

Posted on: March 2nd, 2015

Damien Shaw takes the Cycleways Cup after attacking the breakaway with 50km to go. Gardai only allowed the race go ahead at the last minute such were the conditions (Photo: Sean Rowe)


By Brian Canty

Damien Shaw has underlined his class with a fantastic win in a brutally hard Cycleways Cup in Navan, Co Meath.

The Team ASEA man made it back-to-back wins yesterday, having won the event last year.

Twelve months ago he also came in one his own and yesterday he beat off a very brave challenge from Aquablue man Sean McKenna.

Both riders had been part of the day’s five-man breakaway that went from the gun and toughed it out up the road.

The remaining three were Eoin Morton (UCD CC), Sean Lacey (Aquablue CC) and Stephen Murray (VeloRevoluiton CC).

That quintet pulled out a huge gap on the chasing bunch of around 85 riders in the feature event.


Craig Longmore takes victory in the A4 race on a very tough day at the Cycleways Cup in Navan (Photo: Sean Rowe)


But Shaw wasn’t content with matters up front and he took flight with around 50 kilometres to go – just over the halfway point.

And he quickly put time into the remaining four – two minutes was the maximum lead he enjoyed – despite full co-operation from the chasers.

McKenna went off in pursuit of Shaw in the closing stages and to his credit he managed to get within sight of the Mullingar man, whittling his lead down to 20 seconds.

But Shaw found another gear and extended his margin again, crossing the line with some 40 seconds to spare on McKenna.

Eoin Morton won the sprint for third from Lacey and Murray.

Behind, Robin Kelly was another to spend time by himself in what proved a futile bridging effort.


Aaron Swan and Adam Stenson come home together for victory in the A3-junior race (Photo: Sean Rowe)


The Waterford RC man was 30 kilometres by himself trying to get across to the leading five but never managed to. Still, kudos to him for that effort.

He was reeled in by the bunch but still managed to take the bunch sprint for sixth. Incredibly, the leading five had over seven minutes by the time the bunch came in.

Race director was John Nolan and he said it was one of the hardest breaks he’s ever witnessed.

“It was incredible. They rode so hard up front you couldn’t believe it,” he said.

“You have to bear in mind how bad things were here today. We had 90 signed on for it but 10 or so took their entries back because it was so cold and wet.

“There was snow at the start and the guards only let the race go ahead at the last minute. It was touch and go for a while.


Ciara Doogan shows her promise with a fantastic solo victory in the women’s race (Photo: Sean Rowe)


“But the race started and the snow stopped after about 5 minutes. It was still as bad as I’ve seen for a race though.”

The A3 event was a cracking race with 120 signing one.

That went the way of the Nicolas Roche Performance Team, with Aaron Swan and Adam Stenson taking a fine 1-2 for the squad.

They crossed the line together, well clear of the bunch.

The A4 race was won by Craig Longmore while special mention must got to Ciara Doogan of Errigal CC who win the women’s race.

She’s a first year junior and beat a fine field that included runner-up Eve McCrystal (Garda CC) and Moira Claffey (UCD CC).



Sun, Feb 1st: Cycleways Cup

Navan, Co Meath

Promoted by Navan Road Club

A1-A2 Race

1 Damien Shaw (Team Asea)
2 Sean McKenna (Aquablue CC)
3 Eoin Morton (UCD CC)
4 Sean Lacey (Aquablue CC)
5 Stephen Murray (VeloRevolution)
6 Robin Kelly (Waterford Racing Team)
7 Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers)
8 David Watson (North Down CC)


Unplaced A2s

1 Paul Mulligan (Caldwell Cycles)
2 David Coughlan (VeloRevolution)
3 Karol Green (Carrick Wheelers)


A3 Race

1 Aaron Swan ( NRPT)
2 Adam Stenson ( NRPT)
3 Kenny Wilson (East Antrim Audi CC)
4 Dermot White (Lucan CRC)
5 Shane Kenny (Mego Racing)
6 Conor McCann ( NRPT)
7 Damien Travers (Dungarvan CC)
8 Matteo Cigallo (Navan CC)


Unplaced Juniors

1 Stephen Dyran (Lucan CRC)
2 Barry Talt (Murhpy Surveyors)
3 Con McDunphy (Lucan CRC)


Women’s Race

1 Ciara Doogan (Errigal CC)
2 Eve McCrystal (Garda CC)
3 Moira Claffey (UCD CC)
4 Karen Robinson (Garda CC)
5 Ciara Kinch (Towers CC)
6 Orla Montague (Dublin Wheelers CC)


A4 Race

1 Craig Longmore (Lucan CRC)
2 Barry Hughes (Drogheda CC)
3 Fergus Fagan (Navan RC)
4 Kierre Kinsella (Sheelan Flyers)
5 Martin Connolly (Killough CC)
6 Chris Mollahan (Orwell Wheelers)