Stephen Murphy sprints in to clinch Galway title from breakaway

Posted on: August 11th, 2018

Galway Road Race Championships

The Galway Road Race Championships was won by Stephen Murphy of Blackrose Racing (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Stephen Murphy wins Galway Road Race Championships


Stephen Murphy claimed Galway Road Race Championship gold on Friday night. The Blackrose Racing man sprinted in from the winning escape to clinch victory.

Promoted by Team Gerry McVeigh Cars in Belclare, near Tuam, the riders faced five laps of an 11km circuit.

And while the race, a combined contest for all categories, was marked by constant aggression from the start the moves were all chased down.

After several early groups went clear and were caught, Ruaidhri Geraghty of Galway Bay CC went on a solo effort.

He stayed clear for almost a full lap. But after he was reeled in a six-man group got clear on the fourth lap and they were never caught.

Stephen Murphy beat Eoghan McArdle Ruane (Galway Bay CC) at the chequered flag; McArdle taking A1 gold and Murphy the A2 gold.


Fri, Aug 10: Galway Road Race Champs

Galway Road Race Championships

Category Podiums

A1 Podium
1 Eoghan McArdle Ruane Galway Bay CC
A2 Podium
1 Stephen Murphy Black Rose Racing
2 Nigel Forde Galway Bay CC
3 Ronan McNamara Galway Bay CC
A3 Podium
1 Iarla Feeney Galway Bay CC
2 Feidhlim Dignan Cunga CC
3 Ruaidhri Geraghty Galway Bay CC
A4 Podium
1 Patrick Stephens Galway Bay CC
2 Kevin Molyneaux Challenge CC
3 David Gordon Galway Bay CC
Women’s Podium
1 Michelle McKinney Galway Bay CC
Junior Podium
1 Nathan Kurensky Greenmount C Academy