Sherlock romps away with National Hill Climb title from Walsh & Swinand

Posted on: October 7th, 2012

Senior Podium: Silver medallist Walsh, champion Sherlock, bronze winner Swinand

Senior Podium: Silver medallist Walsh, champion Sherlock, bronze winner Swinand


Ryan Sherlock of the promoting club Cycleways CC has taken the National Hill Climb Championship with a massive winning margin of 1 minute 29 seconds from French based Anthony Walsh (Apoge Super U).

However, former UCD CC rider Walsh has done well to get back into top shape following a very testing year in which he was sidelined twice for prolonged periods with broken bones.

Greg Swinand (Usher IRC) was third quickest rider in Co Wicklow yesterday morning and because he is a veteran he also took that title.

Colm Turner (West Clare CC) very nearly made the trip east worthwhile by posting a time just 13 seconds slower than Swinand to take 4th place.

The title race was decided on the 10km climb of Turlough Hill; ascended from Glendalough.

Sherlock, who has been racing in Belgium of late, scorched up the climb in a time of 25:07.79. Walsh posted a time of 26:36.81 followed by Swinand on 26:51.59. Turner was next with a time of 27:04.60.

While Swinand took the vets title, the silver medal in that contest went to Frank Billings (Lucan CRC). His time of 28:14.17 was 10th fastest on the day of the 68-rider field. The vets bronze went to Michael Jordam (IMBRC) in a time 29:38.78.

Danny Bruton of DID Dunboyne CC put in a fantastic ride up the climb to take the junior crown. His time of 27:544.50 was quick enough to put him 6th on the day and, Sherlock’s ride aside, that effort was arguably the performance of the day.

Bruton is a young rider who has done well this year and we should see a lot more of him at the top of the results tables across the country in coming seasons.

The junior silver medal went to Mikey Moriarty (Lee Strand Tralee CC) in a time of 33:20.15 with Evan Cunningham (Naas) taking the bronze in a time of 35:10.17.

The women’s title race was the closest contest of the day.

Rachel Glendon (Orwell Wheelers) took gold in a time of 32:49.81 with Michelle Geoghegan (Steeds Vooraan) taking the silver just 10 seconds adrift. In the bronze medal position was Amy Brice (Phoenix CC) with a time of 35:01.69.

The promotion of the championships by Cycleways CC coincides with the launch of the club sponsor’s new website

All photos with thanks to Alan Donnelly. We’ll bring you some action shots later.


Rachel Glendon is Women’s National Hill Climb Champion


Not slowing down: Swinand gets his vets gold to go with his senior bronze

One to watch: Danny Bruton put in a brilliant ride to take 6th and junior gold



Full Results: National Hill Climb Championships

1) Ryan Sherlock Cycleways CC Senior 25.07.79 (1st Senior)
2) Anthony Walsh Apoge Super U Senior 26.36.81 (2nd Senior)
3) Greg Swinand Usher IRC Vet 26.51.59 (1st Vet)
4) Colm Turner West Clare CC Senior 27.04.60 (3rd Senior)
5) Aaron O’Donohue SDCC Senior 27.43.87
6) Danny Bruton Dunboyne CC Junior 27.44.50 (1st Junior)
7) Brian McArdle Orwell Wheelers Senior 27.54.93
8) Tim O’Regan Dunboyne CC Senior 27.55.86
9) Neil Long Dubliin Wheelers Senior 27.57.89
10) Frank Billings LCRC Vet 28.14.17  (2nd Vet)
11) Eoghan Clifford Galway Bay CC Senior 28.14.92
12) Geoffrey Robinson Bray Wheelers Senior 28.18.67
13) Eoin Morton UCD Senior 28.41.94
14) Eric Downey Orwell Wheelers Senior 28.43.36
15) Matthew Adair Banbridge CC Senior 28.55.69
16) Andrew Stanley Dublin Uni CC Senior 28.56.27
17) Mike Ryder Galway Bay CC Senior 29.05.96
18) John Kelly Dublin Wheelers Senior 29.29.15
19) Michael Jordan IMBRC Vet 29.38.78 (3rd Vet)
20) James McFadden UA Senior 29.39.49
21) David Wherity Stamullen Senior 29.45.22
22) John McCarthy UA Senior 29.46.92
23) Kevin Culhane Gas Pipes TC Senior 30.16.28
24) Ben O’Higgins Bray Wheelers Senior 30.21.79
25) Daniel Balasi UA Senior 30.36.38
26) David McCormack De Ronde van Cork CC Vet 30.50.42
27) Richard Close MAD Vet 31.00.01
28) Phil O’Flaherty Swords CC Vet 31.02.99
29) Fionn Griffin Orwell Wheelers Senior 31.30.20
30) Hugh Gallagher Naas Senior 31.33.64
31) Damien Creighton Blanch Wheelies CC Senior 31.35.92
32) Colin O’Brien Over the hill CC Senior 31.58.71
33) John Mahon UA Senior 32.01.72
34) Finbar Power Comeragh CC Vet 32.07.43
35) John Spain Bray Wheelers Senior 32.17.65
36) Joe Flynn St. Tiernans Senior 32.21.81
37) Conor Doyle Swords CC Senior 32.34.75
38) Ronan Kearney Bray Wheelers Senior 32.40.79
39) Rachel Glendon Orwell Wheelers Women 32.49.81 (1st Woman)
40) Edward O’Mahony Orwell Wheelers Senior 33.00.01
41) Michelle Geoghegan Steeds Vooraan Women 33.06.93 (2nd Woman)
42) Darren O’Toole Orwell Wheelers Senior 33.11.68
43) Gareth McCormack Castlebar CC Senior 33.11.94
44) Cormac Ahern MAD Senior 33.19.45
45) DerekByrne Laois CTC Senior 33.19.93
46) Mikey Moriarty Lee Strand Tralee CC Junior 33.20.15 (2nd Junior)
47) David O’Neill Team WORC Senior 33.28.88
48) Gerard Conlan Comeragh CC Senior 33.37.83
49) Ed O’Brien Bray Wheelers Senior 33.39.04
50) Greg O’Donnell Orwell Wheelers Senior 33.56.46
51) Micheael Dardis Epic MTB Vet 34.08.41
52) Joe Christian SERC Senior 34.28.49
53) Thomas O’Brien UA Senior 34.36.07
54) Aidan Reade Black Rose Racing Vet 34.38.54
55) Amy Brice Phoenix CC Women 35.01.69 (3rd Woman)
56) Niamh Stephens UCD Women 35.03.95
57) Evan Cunningham Naas Junior 35.10.17 (3rd Junior)
58) Roisin Kennedy Adamstown CT Women 35.10.55
59) Fergus Whelan Adamstown CT Vet 35.19.16
60) Luke Gillespie Naas Junior 35.35.92
61) John Cantillon Epic MTB Vet 36.17.42
62) JP Flynn UA Senior 36.50.53
63) Siobhan McNamara Look mum no hands Women 37.02.06
64) Colm Dillon Limerick CC Senior 37.08.83
65) Laurence Foley LCRC Senior 37.29.54
66) Isabel Cogan Orwell Wheelers Women 38.45.48
67) Lenny McManus Drogheda Whs Senior 40.23.89
68) Emma Convey Orwell Wheelers Women 43.04.99