Top junior Shay Donley wins Groucho GP from Craig Sweetman

Posted on: May 13th, 2018

Shay Donley

Having performed very well since the start of the campaign, Shay Donley is really hittings his stride now for NRPT-Chill Insurance. He was best at the Grouchos GP (Photo: Sharon McFarland)


Shay Donley takes fifth win of Irish road racing season


One of the dominant juniors in the country at present, Shay Donley has demolished the closing sprint at the Grouchos GP in Co Armagh for an impressive victory.

It was the NRPT-Chill Insurance man’s fifth win of the season following a stage win at the Rás Mhaigh Eo Two Day,  Killinchy GP and Coombes Connor.

Donley has also won a stage of the O’Leary Stone Kanturk Three Day, and now adds another victory to the list of his performance in Richhill yesterday.

The teenager finished several lengths ahead of evergreen veteran Craig Sweetman of Stamullen RC. Adam Pyper of Maryland Wheelers rounded out the podium.

In the A4 race, Barry Patton of Keevan CC took victory from Michael McDonald and Jacob Allison, both of Phoenix CC.

The masters race went to Raymond Beers (East Antrim CC) from Feargal Magee of Apollo CT and Ian McClure (Dave Kane Cycles).


Sat, May 7th: Groucho GP

Richhill, Co Armagh

Promoted by Shelbourne Orchard CC

A2-A3 Race

  1. Shay Donley NRPT-Chill Insurance
  2. Craig Sweetman Stamullen RC
  3. Adam Pyper Maryland Wheelers
  4. Gary McCullough Team Madigan
  5. Glenn Dunwoody Shelbourne-Orchard CC
  6. Dean Burnside Island Wheelers
  7. Des Woods Newry Wheelers
  8. Anthony Boyle VC Glendale
  9. Nathan Keown North Down CC
  10. Stuart Miller North Down CC


Shay Donley

Patton wins the A4 contest (Photo: SharonMcFarland)


A4 Race

  1. Barry Patton Keevan CC
  2. Michael McDonald Phoenix CC
  3. Jacob Allison Phoenix CC
  4. Barry Greer Kinning Cycles
  5. Peter McErlane Ards CC
  6. Sean Maguire VC Glendale
  7. Jonathan Coen Dromore CC
  8. Gerard Doyle Dromara CC
  9. Mark Evans Shelbourne-Orchard CC
  10. David Robinson Kings Moss CC


Masters Race

  1. Raymond Beers East Antrim CC
  2. Feargal Magee Apollo CT
  3. Ian McClure Dave Kane Cycles
  4. James Gault Phoenix

Leading Woman

  1. Meta Johnston Team Madigan