Moore triumphs in Tipperary, U16 McGarry wins A3 senior race

Posted on: June 9th, 2019

Sean Moore has won the main event at the Denis Kennedy Road Races in Co Tipperary. Dungarvan’s Mark McGarry got special permission as an U16 to ride the A3-Junior race and won it (Photo with thanks to Maura Lynch Moriarty)

Sean Moore has taken his second victory of the season, proving best from the breakaway at the Denis Kennedy Road Race in Co Tipperary.

In the Collins Cycle Centre promotion Moore got into the day’s main breakaway and when it split he was among the strongest.

He then attacked close to the finish and was joined by two others before beating them on the line for his latest win.

Moore (Bio-DHL-FRS) has been a regular in the results since the start of the season when he won the Mick Lally Memorial.

Yesterday in Boherlahan, over four laps for a total race distance of 130km, Moore was among a nine-man escape that went clear after about 30km.

They rode well together to gain a gap until the last lap when aggression up front split the leaders.

From the original nine, five would press on; Moore, Jason Kenny (UCD CC), Ronan Tuomey (Unattached), Stephen Murphy (Black Rose) and Sean O’Malley (Western Lakes).

Others who had been in the original breakaway included Stephen Murray (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) and Sean Molloy (Nenagh CC).

McGarry pips Moriarty on the line to win the A3-Junior race, a strong result by the U16 cyclist from Dungarvan who needed permission to ride (Photo: Maura Lynch Moriarty)

When the five riders got clear from the breakaway going into the last lap, they initially rode together.

However, with about 5km to go Sean Moore attacked and got clear on his own. About 3km later Murphy and Tuomey got across to him.

And that’s the way it stayed to the finish, with Moore beating Murphy and Tuomey on the line to win.

Those they had been with were caught by a large chasing group, with Thomas Walsh (Comeragh CC) coming through strongly for 5th place.

In the A3-Junior race Mark McGarry (Dungarvan CC) was given permission to ride as he is still and U16.

He broke clear with first-year junior Tom Moriarty (O’Leary Stone Kanturk) who has already broken into the national team.

At the finish McGarry got the verdict to take an impressive win from Moriarty.

In the large group behind the two leaders Moriarty’s team mates, Sean Barrett and Liam Crowley, sprinted in for 3rd and 4th with Dennis O’Connor (Sliabh Luachra) in 5th.

Sun, June 9th: Denis Kennedy Road Race

Promoted by Collins Cycle Centre RT

Boherlahan, Co Tipperary

A1-A2 Race

  1. Sean Moore Bio-DHL-FR Services
  2. Stephen Murphy Black Rose Racing
  3. Ronan Tuomey Unattached
  4. Jason Kenny UCD Cycling Club
  5. Thomas Walsh Comeragh CC
  6. James Sullivan Blarney CC
  7. Mark Shannon Burren CC
  8. Matthew McCullagh Sundrive Track Team
  9. Rhys Kenny Comeragh CC
  10. Mike Storan Greenmount CA

A3 Race

  1. Mark McGarry Dungarvan CC
  2. Tom Moriarty O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  3. Sean Barrett O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  4. Liam Crowley O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  5. Dennis O’Connor Sliabh Luachra
  6. Arnaud Dumoulin O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  7. Sean Buckley Collins Cycle Centre RT
  8. Pat Fitzgerald Waterford RC
  9. John Downey Bandon CC
  10. Stephen Shanahan Limerick CC

A4 Race

  1. Gary Frehill Marble City Cycling
  2. Conor O’Sullivan Bandon CC
  3. Mark Connolly Greenmount CA
  4. Alan Lyons Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  5. Brendan Brosnan Abbeyfeale CC
  6. James Benson Burren Cycling Club
  7. Stephen Quinn Bandon Cycling Club
  8. Keith Butler Nenagh Cycling Club

Leading Woman

  1. Leah Desmond Bandon Cycling Club