Landers and McKenna wrap it up for UCD at ‘Peter Bidwell’

Posted on: April 13th, 2019

Sean Landers is delighted with his victory; the UCD Cycling Club man took an impressive win at the Peter Bidwell (Photos courtesy Damian Faulkner)

Rebuilding in recent years after some of its top riders have stepped away from racing; UCD Cycling Club has taken a tidy victory at the Peter Bidwell Memorial.

Sean Landers took the honours for the south Dublin club while his team mate Conor McKenna claimed 3rd about 10 seconds behind.

Sandwiched between them in the runner-up spot was Paul O’Reilly of Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo; himself a former UCD rider.

The event, named in honour of the former chairman of promoting club Drogheda Wheelers, was run off in handicapped format in Donore.

During the eight laps of the local circuit, for a total race distance of 51km, the racing was marked by aggression; both before the scratch men mopped up everyone ahead and afterwards.

However, despite plenty of splits occurring, a large group looked set to contest the finish before Landers shot off the front solo on the final lap.

And once he got ahead he managed to hold a gap and win it solo; easier said than done.

After O’Reilly and McKenna in 2nd and 3rd came Craig Sweetman (Stamullen RC), Tilt Talumaa (St Tiernan’s CC) and Niall Craven (Drogheda Wheelers).

Paul O’Reilly takes the sprint for 2nd as Conor McKenna, in blue, is celebrating rounding out the podium topped by his team mate Landers (Photo: Damian Faulkner)

Sat April 13th: Peter Bidwell Memorial

Donore, Co Louth (51km)

Promoted by Drogheda Wheelers

  1. Sean Landers (UCD Cycling Club)
  2. Paul O’Reilly (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo)
  3. Conor McKenna (UCD Cycling Club)
  4. Craig Sweetman (Stamullen RC)
  5. Tilt Talumaa (St Tiernan’s CC)
  6. Niall Craven (Drogheda Wheelers)
  7. Liam Dolan (Cuchulainn CC)
  8. Conor Murnane (UCD Cycling Club)

Unplaced A2s

  1. Des Smyth (Blanch Wheelies)
  2. Andrew Keogh (Lucan CRC)
  3. Mitchell McLaughlin (Four Masters CC)

Unplaced A3s

  1. Eugene Murtagh (Lucan CRC)
  2. Fergus Crilly (Navan RC)
  3. Larry McCabe (Newry Wheelers)

Unplaced Juniors 

  1. Ryan Geraghty (Bikeworx Celbridge)
  2. James McMorrow (Drogheda Wheelers)
  3. Sean Lenehan (Navan RC)

Unplaced A4s 

  1. Alan Reilly (Bohermeen CC)
  2. Ramunas Meskauskas (Bohermeen CC)
  3. Cliff Hamilton (Newry Wheelers)

Leading Woman

  1. Roisin Mcgivern (Newry Wheelers)