Hahessy, Hennebry extend dominant run to share spoils in Dungarvan

Posted on: April 7th, 2019

Sean Hahessy has taken another win, for the O’Doherty Cup at the Dungarvan Open Races in Co Waterford (Photo: Sean Rowe)

Sean Hahessy has retained the O’Doherty Cup at the end of the main event in the Dungarvan Open Races in Co Waterford today.

Having been victorious twelve months ago in a solo move, Hahessy came over the line today side-by-side with Conor Hennebry.

The Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo team mates had ridden away from the rest of the field and both crossed the line with arms aloft.

The duo have been 1st and 3rd last year, going one better today for a team 1-2 and completing another very impressive team display.

Last weekend the duo took turns firing off the front in the closing stages of the Des Hanlon Classic in Co Carlow.

Hahessy had gained a very decent advantage but was caught by the breakaway only for Hennebry to take it up and win.

Today it was the turn of Sean Hahessy to take the win after losing out last weekend.

Jamie Blanchfield of Panduit Carrick Wheelers was best of the rest today; rounding out the podium in the main event.

More to come.

Sun, April 7th: Dungarvan Open Races

Dungarvan, Co Waterford

Hosted by Dungarvan Cycling Club

A1-A2 Race O’Doherty Cup

  1. Sean Hahessy Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  2. Conor Hennebry Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  3. Jamie Blanchfield Panduit Carrick
  4. Dillon Corkery BioRacer-DHL-FR Services
  5. Matt Sparrow Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  6. Sean Moore BioRacer-DHL-FR Services
  7. Damien Shaw Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  8. Richard Maes Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  9. Liam Curley Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  10. Keith Gater Waterford Racing

A3-Junior Race

  1. Edvins Silovs North Tipperary Wheelers
  2. Owen Mussett Team Smartleigh
  3. Patsy McCaffrey Unattached
  4. Daniel Yon Hin O’Leary Kanturk CC
  5. Denis O Connor Sliabh Luachra
  6. Tom O Connor O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  7. Tom Moriarty O’Leary Stone Kanturk
  8. Mick Hennessey Fermoy CC
  9. Owen Mullonney Burren CC
  10. Eoin Bailey Carlow CRC

Leading Woman

  1. Niamh O’Donovan TC Racing

A4 Race

  1. Kieran Jackson Comeragh CC
  2. John Crowley Killarney CC
  3. Luke O Sullivan Coachford CC
  4. Gearoid Howard Burren CC
  5. Sean McCarthy ACME
  6. Michael Cummins Carlow RC
  7. Brian Condon Unattached
  8. Alan Dwyer Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  9. Michael O’Dwyer Slievenamon
  10. Jack Corcoran Unattached

Leading Woman

  1. Agnieszka Wozniak Strata3-VeloRevolution