Sam Bennett survives for one last chance at Tour de Slovenia

Posted on: June 17th, 2017

Irish cyclist Sam Bennett Tour de Slovenia


Sam Bennett one last chance at Tour de Slovenia


Following his late crash yesterday at the Tour de Slovenia, Sam Bennett has come through the queen stage of the race.

And he now has one last chance at a victory, with the event concluding tomorrow.

Bennett won Thursday’s opener after 159.4km into Kocevje. He saw off Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain-Merida) and Luka Mezgec (Orica-Scott).

However, yesterday did not go so well. Bennett was wearing the race leader’s jersey and looked set to pounce again in the bunch sprint into Ljubljana after 170km.

But with the roads very slippy after heavy rain, he crashed inside the last kilometre.

The stage was won by Mezgec and he took the race lead on time bonuses.

Today’s third stage saw the riders tackle 167.7km from Celje to the cat 1 summit finish at Rogla.

It was won by Bennett’s team mate Rafa Majka; by four seconds from Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain-Merida).

In third place was Jack Haig (Orica Scott), some 12 seconds off Majka.

Majka now leads overall, with Visconti 8 seconds back and Haig 18 seconds back.

Bennett finished in a large group 24:24 down, in 121st place.

Tomorrow’s concluding stage brings the field 160km from Rogaska Slatina to Novo Mesto.

It’s flat apart from a cat 3 climb just before the halfway point and should suit the sprinters.

Bora-hansgrohe will need to work to ensure nobody gives Majka the slip, as five riders are within 50 seconds of him overall.

That may use up some of the resources that Sam Bennett would require in the lead-out. However, the team will look to take the stage with Bennett and the overall with Majka.


Stage 3:  Celje – Rogla (167.7km)

1 Rafal Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) 4:33:40
2 Giovanni Visconti (Bahrain-Merida) 0:00:04
3 Jack Haig (Orica-Scott) 0:00:12
4 Gregor Mühlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe) 0:00:25
5 Tadej Pogacar (Rog-Ljubljana) 0:00:36
6 Hermann Pernsteiner (Amplatz) – BMC 0:00:39
7 Mattia Cattaneo (Androni Giocattoli) 0:00:59
8 Pawel Cieslik (ElkovAuthor) 0:01:04
9 Ivan Santaromita (Nippo-Vini Fantini) 0:01:06
10 Edward Ravasi (UAE Emirates) 0:01:22
121 Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) 24:24


General Classification

1 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe 12:14:07
2 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:00:08
3 Jack Haig (Aus) Orica-Scott 0:00:18
4 Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:35
5 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) Rog – Ljubljana 0:00:46
6 Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut) Amplatz – BMC 0:00:49
7 Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:01:09
8 Pawel Cieslik (Pol) Elkov – Author Cycling Team 0:01:14
9 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Nippo – Vini Fantini 0:01:15
10 Edward Ravasi (Ita) Team UAE Emirates 0:01:32
65 Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe) 24:24