Ronan McLaughlin takes biggest victory at Shay Elliott Classic

Posted on: May 13th, 2018

Ronan McLaughlin wins Shay Elliott

Ronan McLaughlin may now be 31-years-old but he’s hitting his stride this year and has taken two big wins back to back, the latest at the Shay Elliott Memorial today (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Ronan McLaughlin wins Shay Elliott Memorial, Co Wicklow


He may have long packed away his full-time racing career but that hasn’t stopped Ronan McLaughlin taking arguably the biggest win of his career at the Shay Elliott Classic in Co Wicklow today.

The Viner-Caremark-Pactimo rider, and previous An Post-Chainreaction man, took the race ahead of team mate Matteo Cigala.

McLaughlin’s win follows a brilliant victory on stage 2 of the Tour of Ulster last weekend when he prevailed after more than 100 miles.

Today the 31-year-old Donegal  man and team mate Cigala finished side by side untroubled by any of their nearest rivals.

The  next man home was Cathal Purcell, the Panduit Carrick Wheelers rider rounding out the podium; a great result.

Then followed James Davenport (Strata 3-VeloRevolution), Eoin O’Connell (Blarney CC), Aaron Kearney (Viner-Caremark-Pactimo), Mark Dowling (Unattached) and PJ Doogan Caldwell Cycles.

In the new support race, the Ken Duff Memorial, Tom Shanahan was best. The Limerick CC rider stole away from a small group to win solo.

He finished a few seconds ahead of the chasers, who were brought home by Michael McGlynn; the Omagh Wheelers man also winning the climbing and sprint primes.

Conor Farrell (Lakeside Wheelers) completed the podium ahead of Liam Hanley (Lucan CRC), John Paul Sweetman (St Tiernan’s) and Frank Billings (Lucan CRC).

More to follow.

Ronan McLaughlin wins Shay Elliott

Happy Camper: A delighted Ronan McLaughlin with his winner’s swag