Lucan CRC’s Ronan Killeen plays it smart for victory in Robinstown

Posted on: July 14th, 2019
Ronan Killeen is one of the most consistent riders in the country and last evening he took victory in the Tommy Brady Memorial in Robinstown (Photo: Sean Rowe)

One of the most consistent riders in the country in recent years, Ronan Killeen has taken victory in the Tommy Brady Memorial in Robinstown, Co Meath.

The Lucan CRC rider took the honours ahead of Conor McKenna (UCD Cycling Club) and Fergus Crilly of the host club, Navan RC.

Dublin Wheeler Ronan McDonnell was 4th followed by Alan Bingham (Newry Wheelers) and Shane Barker (Lucan CRC).

Killeen joined a number of moves early in the race and on the second lap of seven he got clear in a nine-man breakaway.

That group rode strongly together until the last lap when the attacking up front began to split them.

In the closing stages Killeen pulled away with Newry Wheelers man Kevin Lynch and they eked out a gap inside the final 5km.

However, those chasing the two leaders never gave up and approaching the finish they were gaining on the men out front.

In the last 500 metres the gap was right down when Alan Bingham (Newry Wheelers) jumped across to two men leading.

Bingham made contact with them and attempted to go straight past in a bid for victory.

However, when Killeen saw him coming he eased off the gas just enough to allow himself recover a little.

And when Bingham went past, the Lucan CRC man got onto his wheel, waited for a few moments and then pulled the trigger.

He went past Bingham to win as those behind closed right in; three of them passing Bingham just before the finish line.

It was Killeen’s first win of the season, though a mark of his consistency is that he is ranked 15th A1 in the Cycling Ireland rankings at present.

He adds his victory last night to three runner-up placings since the start of the season; at the Crotty Cup, Mondello and a stage of Rás Mhaigheo.

Sat, July 13th: Tommy Brady Memorial

Robinstown, Co Meath

Promoted by Navan Road Club

  1. Ronan Killeen Lucan CRC
  2. Conor McKenna UCD Cycling Club
  3. Fergus Crilly Navan Road Club
  4. Ronan McDonnell Dublin Wheelers
  5. Alan Bingham Newry Wheelers
  6. Shane Barker Lucan CRC