Robin Seymour and Lara Gillespie best in Greystones cyclocross

Posted on: October 28th, 2018

Robin Seymour comes through for victory after a fantastic battle with Niall Davis in Greystones (Photo: John Hammer)


National masters cyclocross champion and world masters MTB champion, Robin Seymour was best in the main event under floodlights in Co Wicklow on Saturday night.

The Team Worc man went head-to-head with form rider Niall Davis and scalped the man at the end of an hour’s racing in Greystones.

Davis has been in great form of late, taking 2nd in the recent UCI-ranked Belfast International and winning in Dodder Valley Park last weekend.

And in the cyclocross men’s race on Saturday night it was Davis who got the better start. He edged clear of Seymour on the second lap of nine after they could not be separated on the extended opening loop.

However, while Davis was marginally in front at the start of the third lap, they remained evenly matched for the whole race.

Davis would grab a few seconds on lap six and seven, but the end of the eighth lap as they took the bell there was nothing to separate them and it was anybody’s race.

Seymour’s team mates Niall Somers and Gavin O’Connell were never too far behind the two leaders.

But the real battle, through the entire race, was between Seymour and Davis.

However, with victory on the line and the pressure on during the final lap, Davis suffered a mishap.


Lara Gillespie out front and headed for victory after powering clear on the opening lap (Photo: JohnHammer)


Davis crashed, having apparently hit a hole, and was thrown off his bike. He shook it off and remounted before setting off in pursuit of Seymour.

But the lone leader has finished out close races with victories many times and this was to prove no different.

He kept the pressure on and looked strong and smooth, as he had done the whole contest, to win. Davis came in 2nd some 17 seconds back.

Another 35 seconds would elapse before Somers took 3rd, with O’Connell in 4th another 52 seconds down.

In the women’s race the result was not as close; Lara Gillespie taking a very convincing win for Scott-Orwell.

The junior star got by far the best start and by the end of the opening lap, of six, she already had 19 seconds in hand.

Behind her, and chasing Gillespie for the night, was Klaudia Bajolek of Scott Eurocycles, with Maeve O’Grady (Unattached) next.

Once Gillespie got ahead on the opening lap she simply continued to add to her lead on each lap; gaining more than 20 seconds each loop before winning by over two minutes.

She finished, after just over 40 minutes of racing, some 2:03 ahead of Bajolek, with O’Grady next a further 1:23 back.


Sat, Oct 27: Round 3, Supercross Cup

Greystones, Co Wicklow

Men’s A Race

  1. Robin Seymour WORC A40 58:34
  2. Niall Davis ASR 58:51
  3. Niall Somers WORC ASR 59:26
  4. Gavin O’Connell WORC ASR 1:00:18
  5. Richard Maes Killarney cc ASR 1:00:35
  6. Seán O Tuathail Bray Wheelers A40 1:00:59
  7. Paul Caldwell Epic MTB/Expert Cycles ASR 1:01:02
  8. Tim O’Regan Killarney CC ASR 1:01:07
  9. Ciaran Byrne velocity mtb ASR 1:01:08
  10. Andrew Newman WORC A40 1:01:09
  11. Brian Melia Team WORC ASR 1:01:34
  12. Lee Harvey Unattached A Junior 1:01:55
  13. Alan Cullen Park Wheelers A40 1:01:58
  14. Evan Ryan WORC A40 1:02:08
  15. Ronan O’Flynn Scott Orwell Wheelers ASR 1:02:28
  16. Eoin Ahern Scott-Orwell Wheelers ASR 1:02:49
  17. Mick Jordan IMBRC A50 1:02:56
  18. Harry Byrne A Junior 1:03:05
  19. Vinny Fitzsimon WORC A50 1:03:17
  20. Brendan Doherty Vc Glendale A50 1:03:38
  21. Ronan O’Sullivan Team Giant Dublin A40 1:03:51
  22. Paul Kane Orwell Wheelers ASR 1:03:56
  23. Alan Cody Donnybrook landscaping A40 1:04:00
  24. Emmet Callaghan IMBRC A Junior 1:04:06
  25. Aaron McCann Cuchulainn cc ASR 1:04:12
  26. Philip Roche WORC ASR 1:04:19
  27. John Fagan WORC A40 1:04:31
  28. Dominick Hegarty Imbrc A50 1:04:42
  29. Stephen Timmons Epic Mtb/ Expert Cycles A40 1:04:42
  30. Nick Runtsch SaltAir Cross Fever ASR 1:04:52


Women’s Race

  1. Lara Gillespie Scott-Orwell Jnr 41:41
  2. Klaudia Bajolek Scott Eurocycles 43:43
  3. Maeve O’Grady Unattached 45:06
  4. Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare cycling club 45:36
  5. Joanna Bula Scott Eurocycles 45:42
  6. Niamh McKiverigan Power House Sport Jnr 46:03
  7. Niamh Stephens TC Racing 47:10
  8. Grace Young De Ronde Van Cork 47:20
  9. Mary Dawson Bray Wheelers 47:54
  10. Erica Grant Epic 49:15
  11. Aideen Keenan Dublin Wheelers 49:29
  12. Arron Fox Scott Orwell Wheelers 49:54
  13. Stephanie Roche Scott Orwell Jnr 42:14
  14. Natalie Grieve Epic MTB 42:31
  15. Niamh McGreen MAD MTB 42:55
  16. Aine Doherty Vc Glendale U14 29:09
  17. Annie Roche Scott Orwell U16 30:57
  18. Caoimhe May Scott Orwell U16 33:06
  19. Sophie Dunnan WORC U14 35:24
  20. Eve Furlong Racing795 U16 36:51
  21. Tiffany Safronoff Unattached 49:09