Richie Maes, Michelle Geoghegan take strong wins in Youghal

Posted on: January 7th, 2019

Richie Maes exhausted and delighted in equal measure at the end of a hard-fought race promoted by Youghal Cycling Club (All photos by Sean Rowe)


Michelle Geoghegan (Illi Bikes) and Richie Maes (Killarney CC) made the most of their last outings before the National Cyclocross Championships; both taking strong wins in Co Cork on Sunday.

On an interesting course put on by Youghal Cycling Club, the riders raced a section along the beach before a tarmac finish, with plenty of mud in between.

Geoghegan, a very experienced campaigner in the road and cyclocross disciplines, had too much for the opposition.

She was out on her on by a considerable way at the end of the contest; a welcome scenario before next weekend’s championships.

And she will go back down to Cork for those championships knowing she’s in good shape. She’ll face the strongest cross riders – Maria Larkin and Lara Gillespie among them.

But on the basis of her victory Leeside on Sunday, she must be counted in as one of the favourites for a medal.

In Youghal she had plenty of time to celebrate at the finish. Lisa Stapelbroek (Kenmare CC) was next best, taking 2nd place.

Teenager Lucy O’Donnell (O’Leary Stone Kanturk CC) put in another strong showing, as she has done through the season, to round out the podium.


Top down: Geoghegan on her way to winning. Grace Young leads the field early. Barry leads Ahern and O’Brien in the group behind Maes.


In the men’s race Maes and his Killarney team mate Matt Slattery took off quickest in the seven-lap affair. However, the eventual winner has motored all winter and he was soon alone.

Once he got clear of Slattery, Maes knuckled down and pulled away from a group fighting it out behind.

Not even a last lap fall could deny Maes, whose gap was over a minute at the finish. And he too took his time at the last, savouring his eighth victory of the season.

Maes has a habit of raising his game for major races, as his Rás Tailteann rides attest. And he will go to the nationals next weekend counting himself into the fight for medals.

Just behind him in Youghal a small pack of riders battled each other all the way for the remaining places on the podium.

Paidi O’Brien (Killarney CC) was in that fight along with Richie Barry (St Finbarr’s), Eoin Ahern (Scott-Orwell) and Slattery.

It was only in the latter stages that any real daylight finally appeared between them; Barry going forward for 2nd place.

And despite his early efforts in staying the pace with Maes, Slattery still had enough in the tank to round out the podium.


Michelle Geoghegan was out on her own at the chequered flag in Cork after an impressive ride.


Sun, Jan 6th:  ‘Cross Youghal

Promoted by Youghal Cycling Club

Men’s A Race

  1. Richard Maes Killarney CC
  2. Richard Barry St Finbarr’s CC
  3. Matt Slattery Killarney CC

Women’s Race

  1. Michelle Geoghegan Illi Bikes
  2. Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare CC
  3. Lucy O’Donnell O’Leary Stone Kanturk CC

Men’s B Race

  1. Shane Leary UCD-FitzCycles
  2. Michael Shine Blarney CC
  3. Brian Landers Youghal CC

Masters 40 Race

  1. Patrick Clifford Strata3-VeloRevolution
  2. John Dempsey Panduit Carrick Wheelers
  3. Tadhg DeBarra Comeragh CC

Masters 50 Race

  1. John Crowley Killarney CC
  2. Paul Birchall Revolution CC
  3. Russell Treacy St Finbarr’s CC

U16 Race

  1. David McCarthy MBCC
  2. Ben Murphy SLCC
  3. Brendan Conroy Epic MTB

U14 Race

  1. Eoghan Crowley Killarney CC
  2. Killian O’Shea Revolution CC
  3. Luke Bennett WTC