Philip Lavery wins ‘Bobby Power Memorial’ in Carrick-on-Suir

Posted on: March 17th, 2016

Not a bother: Philip Lavery’s winning expression is a picture of satisfaction against the frustration etched on the face of runner-up Conor Hennebry (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Dubliner Philip Lavery took the feature St Patrick’s Day race in Carrick-on-Suir when he came out best in a two-up sprint that decided the contest.

He narrowly beat Conor Hennebry (Aquablue) on the line for victory in the Bobby Power Memorial promoted by Carrick Wheelers.

The combined A1-A2 event took the riders on three laps of a local circuit, starting and finishing in Crehana, for a total race distance of 124km.

In the end the leading pair sprinted it out for the win just a few seconds ahead of a small very select group that was galloping for 3rd place.

Sean McKenna (Aquablue) won that sprint to take the last spot on the podium from Michael O’Loughlin (Team Wiggins) and the in-form Darragh O’Mahoney (O’Leary’s Stone Kanturk).

In the A3 Tommy Sheehan Memorial the riders completed two laps of the same circuit as those in the main event.

The finish witnessed a rare sight for domestic racing; three team mates coming home for a 1-2-3, all with their hands in the air.

The Cork Giant trio in question were the emerging Robert O’Leary, Dylan Corkery and Ronan Tuomey, in that order.

They were just seconds ahead of a small group of a half dozen riders, with David Kyle (North Tipp Wheelers) proving best of those for 4th.

He was followed by Dermot Gregan (Gorey Slipstream) and home town man Cathal Purcell (Panduit Carrick).

The A4 Landy Cup came down to a bunch sprint with Keith Barry of Panduit Carrick hitting out for a very popular win for the promoting club.

He took victory from James O’Connor (North Tipp Wheelers), John Treacy (Comeragh CC), Kieran Merriman (Waterford RC) and Eugene Blanchfield (Slievenamon CC).



St Patrick’s Day Races, Carrick-on-Suir

Promoted by Panduit Carrick Wheelers

Sponsored by Morris Oil

A1-A2 Bobby Power Memorial 125km

1. Philip Lavery (Unattached)
2. Conor Hennebry (Aquablue)
3. Sean McKenna (Aquablue)
4. Michael O’Loughlin (Team Wiggins)
5. Darragh O’Mahoney (O’Leary’s Stone Kanturk)
6. Mike Storan (MODA Kingdom Endurance)
7. Sean Lacey (Aquablue)
8. Jamie Blanchfield (Panduit Carrick)



A3 Tommy Sheehan Memorial 80km

1. Robert O’Leary (Giant Cork)
2. Dylan Corkery (Giant Cork)
3. Ronan Tuomey (Giant Cork)
4. David Kyle (North Tipp Wheelers)
5. Dermot Gregan (Gorey Slipstream)
6. Cathal Purcell (Panduit Carrick)
7. Conor Murphy (O’Leary’s Stone Kanturk)
8. Don Feighery (Waterford Racing Team)



A4 Landy Cup 80km

1. Keith Barry (Panduit Carrick)
2. James O’Connor (Tipperary Wheelers)
3. John Treacy (Comeragh CC)
4. Kieran Merriman (Waterford RC)
5. Eugene Blanchfield (Slievenamon CC)
6. Jimmy Treacy (Raparee CC)
7. Goethe Macleod (Dungarvan CC)
8. Owen Hickey (Youghal CC)