Flying Prendergast leads the way again with Waller Cup win, Bohermeen

Posted on: April 7th, 2019

Charlie Prendergast has been in great form since the start of the season just over one month ago. And now he has claimed victory in the Waller Cup in Bohermeen from Marc Potts.


Charlie Prendergast has taken his third victory of the season at the Waller Cup in Bohermeen, Co Meath.

The Castlebar Cycling Club man saw off Irish track international rider Marc Potts (Unattached) with the emerging Conor Murnane of UCD Cycling Club in 3rd.

The seeds of Prendergast’s victory were sown on the second lap of eight on the Co Meath circuit.

There had been a split in the field at that point and from that five riders would go clear.

The eventual top three – Prendergast, Potts and Murnane – were in that group. Also present were Darnell Moore of Caldwell Cycles and Ciaran Handley of McNally Swords Cycling Club.

That five worked well together over the follow laps but on the final circuit the battle was on up front.

Prendergast managed to get clear, with Potts going with him. And at the finish it was the Mayo man who got the verdict.

Thanks to his strong start to the season, Prendergast was top of the Cycling Ireland A1 rankings before this weekend’s racing got underway.

He opened his campaign with 2nd at the Mick Lally Memorial and 2nd at Rás Naomh Finian.

Following that he placed 3rd in the Markievicz Cup and claimed Rás Mhaigheo overall after winning the opening stage and finishing 2nd on the final stage.


Sun, April 7th: Waller Cup

Bohermeen, Co Meath

Promoted by Bohermeen CC

A1 Race Waller Cup

  1. Charlie Prendergast Castlebar CC
  2. Marc Potts Unattached
  3. Conor Murnane UCD Cycling Club
  4. Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles
  5. Ciaran Handley McNally Swords CC
  6. Greg Swinand Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  7. Ronan Killeen Lucan CRC
  8. Paul Forristal Scott Orwell


A2 Race Thomas Tuite Cup

  1. Gordon Boland Tullamore CTC
  2. Declan Shevlin Gerry McVeigh Cars
  3. Jamie Busher Scott Orwell
  4. Arek Klus Stamullen CC
  5. Paul McColgan St Tiernan’s
  6. David Fielding South Dublin CC
  7. Joel Luke UCD Cycling Club
  8. Darragh Zaidan Arcane CC


A3- Jnr Michael McGuire Cup

  1. Kevin McCambridge Vitus NRPT
  2. Aaron Wade Vitus NRPT
  3. Colm Bracken Kilcullen CC
  4. Jason Howick Bray Wheelers
  5. Shane Coll Drogheda Wheelers
  6. Conor Murphy Rogers Scott Orwell
  7. John Boyne Lakeside Wheelers
  8. Fergus Crilly Navan Road Club

Leading Club Man

  1. Aaron Rafferty Bohermeen

Unplaced Juniors

  1. Matthew Devins Yeats Country CC
  2. Keith Mulroy Westport Covey CC
  3. David O’Sullivan Ciclotel Travel


A4 Tara Steel Trophy

  1. Shane McCullough Blanch Wheelies CC
  2. Tony Keane Ardee CC
  3. David Mitchell McNally Swords
  4. Fergal Murray Oldcastle CC
  5. Derek Coulahan Naas CC
  6. Daniel Lockey Clontarf CC
  7. Paul Kelly Moynalty CC
  8. Seán Flahive McNally Swords CC


Women’s Race McHugh Cup

  1. Sinéad Molloy Tullamore CTC
  2. Claire Ni Reachtagain Sundrive Track Team
  3. Ella Tutty TC Racing
  4. Ewa Kuras Arcane
  5. Yvonne Doran Scott Orwell
  6. Laura McMunn Scott Orwell
  7. Lisa Mackessy Gerry McVeigh Cars
  8. Aoibhe Power Dungarvan CC