O’Reilly and Gillespie reign at Leinster Cyclocross Championships

Posted on: December 10th, 2018

Paul O’Reilly takes his first elite title at the end of the elite men’s race at the Leinster Cyclocross Championships in Co Meath yesterday (Photo: Fran Hollywood)


Paul O’Reilly won the battle with Niall Davis at the front of the elite men’s race yesterday to be crowned Leinster cyclocross champion.

In Kells, Co Meath, over seven laps at Drewstown House it was Davis (Biking.ie) who got the best start.

He pulled out almost ten seconds on O’Reilly (UCD-FitzCycles.ie) on the opening two laps.

However, O’Reilly then began clawing that back and had Davis in his sights by the end of the third lap.

On the next circuit he caught Davis before knuckling down in a bid to get clear and win.

However, it was nip and tuck for the following two laps, with nothing to separate the two men, as Gavin O’Connell (Team Worc) was riding to bronze behind.

But while the race was very close at the head of affairs going out onto the last lap, O’Reilly then hit the afterburners.


Lara Gillespie added the Leinster elite title to her national crown in the Oldcastle Cycling Club promotion in Kells (Photo: John Hammer)


Paul O’Reilly raced around that final circuit in a time of 7:38, almost as fast as the opening lap and a full 15 seconds faster than the penultimate circuit.

With that burst of power he managed to put daylight between himself and Davis, beating him by 13 seconds on the line; all of it gained on that last lap.

O’Connell was another 1:49 down, but he did enough to round out the elite podium, with his team mate Niall Somers 4th another 1:05 back.

In the women’s race, national elite champion and road, track and cyclocross international Lara Gillespie was in a class of her own.

The Scott-Orwell women took the title by five minutes on her nearest challenger, Niamh Stephens of TC Racing.

Even at the end of the opening lap of five in the Oldcastle CC promotion she had 1:08 in hand.

And from that point Gillespie kept the pressure on and continued to build her advantage.

On the finish line she had 5:08 on Stephens, with the emerging Stephanie Roche of Scott Orwell taking the bronze medal.

Roche, whose name is now featuring in the results weekly, did well to put 50 seconds into form rider Asia Bula (Scott-EuroCycles) to take the bronze medal.

In the men’s U23 race, John Boyne and Ian Lambden took a 1-2 for Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar CC.

Adam Mcgarr won the junior race in the colours of Biking.ie. He was 58 seconds faster than Sean Nolan of Navan Road Club, with Ross Ennis of McNally Swords claiming bronze.

In the Masters 40 race, Sean O Tuathail (Bray Wheelers) won gold from Anthony Doyle (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) and Evan Ryan (Team WORC).

John Doris (EPIC-Expert Cycles) won the Masters 50 race from Michael Jordan (CSS Tallaght) and Dominic Hegarty (IMBRC).

The Masters 60 race was won by Cuchulainn’s Johnny McCabe from Lloyd Moore (Scott Orwell) and Tom Clogher (TC Racing).


Sun, Dec 9: Leinster Cyclocross Championships

Promoted by Oldcastle CC

Drewstown House, Kells, Co Meath

Men’s A Race

  1. Paul O’Reilly UCD Cycling Club 53:57
  2. Niall Davis Biking.ie 54:10
  3. Gavin O’Connell Team WORC 55:59
  4. Niall Somers Team WORC 57:04
  5. Raymond O’Shaughnessy Cuchulainn CC 57:43
  6. Ronan O’Flynn Scott Orwell 57:48
  7. Paul Caldwell EPIC-Expert Cycles 57:54
  8. Timothy O’Regan Team WORC 59:11
  9. Philip Roche Team WORC 59:12
  10. Brian Melia Team WORC 59:52
  11. Eoin Ahern Scott Orwell 1:00:45
  12. Anthony Clarke Bray Wheelers 1:02:28
  13. Frank McDermott Oldcastle CC 1:02:37
  14. Jonathan Boyle Cavan Racing 1:03:47
  15. Stuart Cox Lakeside Mullingar CC 55:43
  16. James Lattimore South Dublin CC 59:00


Women’s Race

  1. Lara Gillespie Scott Orwell Wheelers 45:13
  2. Niamh Stephens TC Racing 50:21
  3. Stephanie Roche Scott Orwell 51:07
  4. Joanna Bula Scott Eurocycles.com 51:57
  5. Aishling O Connor Scott Orwell Wheelers 52:41


U23 Men’s Race

  1. John Boyne Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar CC 59:50
  2. Ian Lambden Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar CC 1:00:27


Junior Men’s Result

  1. Adam McGarr Biking.ie 39:21
  2. Sean Nolan Navan Road Club 40:19
  3. Ross Ennis McNally Swords CC 44:07
  4. Padraic Doolan Unattached 47:35
  5. Shane Murray Moynalty Cycling Club 48:01


Masters 40 Race

  1. Seán Ó Tuathail Bray Wheelers 58:50
  2. Anthony Doyle Strata3-VeloRevolution Racing Team 59:07
  3. Evan Ryan Team Worc 59:47
  4. Alan Cody Scott Eurocycles.com 1:00:00
  5. Alan Cullen Park Wheelers 1:00:09
  6. Aaron O’Donohue Team WORC 1:01:34
  7. Gary Shiels Newry Wheelers CC 1:02:10
  8. Peter O’Farrell Team WORC 1:02:32
  9. Fearghal Regan Murphy Surveys Kilcullen CC 1:05:30
  10. Paul Dagg Cuchulainn CC 1:05:58
  11. Cormac Keogh Murphy Surveys Kilcullen CC 1:06:39
  12. Gareth Muldowney Clondalkin CC 1:08:46


Masters 50 Race

  1. John Doris EPIC-Expert Cycles 1:00:14
  2. Michael Jordan CSS Tallaght Wheelers 1:01:23
  3. Dominick Hegarty IMBRC 1:02:27
  4. Mark Murphy Bray Wheelers 1:02:58
  5. David Lawless Team WORC 1:03:44
  6. Gerard O’Donnell IMBRC 1:04:24
  7. Vinnie Fitzsimon Team WORC 1:06:25
  8. Michael O’Reilly EPIC-Expert Cycles 1:08:32


Masters 60 Race

  1. Johnny McCabe Cuchulainn CC 56:46
  2. Lloyd Moore Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 1:01:54
  3. Tom Clogher TC Racing 59:42