Kennedy, Collins and Moriarty strike gold at Munster TT Champs

Posted on: June 8th, 2019

Paul Kennedy on his way to the fastest time and gold medal at the Munster TT Championships today, promoted by North Tipperary Wheelers (Photo: John Coleman)

Paul Kennedy of Foran CC has claimed his second TT victory in as many weekend’s after winning the Munster championships race today.

Kennedy claimed victory in the opening stage of the Orwell Two Day in Co Wicklow last weekend but a family bereavement forced him out of the race while leading.

However, he has now been able to return to competition and made it count today with victory on a day when strong crosswinds hit the riders.

The 29.77km course took the riders from the Birdhill roundabout in Birdhill to Five Alley roundabout and back again.

Kennedy clocked the fastest time on the day, 38:29; an averaged speed of 46.4km per hour and a 407 watts average for his effort.

Autumn Collins is doing more racing on the road this year while maintaining her track career; an option that seems to be suiting her well (Photo: John Coleman)

Autumn Collins (Torelli) won the women’s title in a time of 46:40. Her transition to mixing road with track this year, rather than riding exclusively on the boards, is serving her well.

Today she was a not insignificant 1:08 clear of the next rider home, Sinnead Oakes of De Ronde van Cork.

Taking the bronze medal was up and coming junior, and road and cyclocross international, Lucy O’Donnell. The O’Leary Stone Kanturk teenager stopped the clock in a time of 49:41.

O’Donnell’s O’Leary Stone Kanturk team mate Tom Moriarty took the junior title in a time of 42:25.  

Another of the Kanturk young guns, and a recent winner on the road, Daniel Yon Hin was 2nd in 43:30.

Tadhg O’Shea of Killarney Cycling Club took 3rd place, just 20 seconds off Yon Hin.

Tom Moriarty gets ready for the off. He was best junior on the day (Photo: John Coleman)

The Masters 40 event was won by Owen Woods (North Tipp) in 40:09 from John Horgan (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo) in 40:24.

Derek Cullen of Greenmount Cycling Academy was best of the A3 riders on the day, in a time of 42:35.

Conor Coleman of Carrick Wheelers was next, in 43:52, with Sean Allis of Clonakilty CC in 3rd, though no time was available for him.

The A2 contest was won by Jurgen Simpson (Limerick CC) from Canice McNay (Newcastle West) and Edvins Silovs (North Tipp). No times were available for the A2 riders.

AJ Murphy (Midleton CC) won the Masters 50 race in 40:26. Tom Gentleman (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) was 2nd in 43:11 and Gerry McCarthy (Tralee Manor West) was 3rd in 43:18.

The Masters 60 race was won by John Foote of promoting club North Tipp in a time of 45:50. Pat J Fitzpatrick (Unattached) was 2nd in 49:51.

The U15 boys race was won by David Shine (O’Leary Stone Kanturk) in 45:19 from Adam Lenihan of Killarney CC in 48:16.

The U16 boys category was claimed by Dungarvan’s Mark McGarry in a time of 45:38.

  • Publishers note: Every result and time we received is included in this piece. A full result, from fastest time down the field, was not available.