O’Connell sees off Blanchfield for strong Tipp Wheelers GP win

Posted on: July 16th, 2017


Eoin O'Connell pips Jamie Blanchfield at Tipp Wheelers GP

Killarney CC’s Eoin O’Connell escaped from a big break with Jamie Blanchfield, beating the Pandit Carrick Wheelers rider on the line. Their 14 former breakaway companions fought it out for the remaining placings (All photos with thanks to Richie Bourke-Tipp Wheelers)


O’Connell pips Blanchfield at Tipp Wheelers GP


Killarney CC’s Eoin O’Connell landed the inaugural Tipp Wheelers GP in Golden on Sunday. He prevailed on a day when the breakaway won out.

An undulating course with multiple drags and false flats welcomed the riders, prompting attacks from the gun in the main Willie Slattery Memorial Cup.

By halfway in the 100km contest a breakaway of 16 riders had formed. But its size played against it and those within attacked each other.

O’Connell got clear with Jamie Blanchfield (Panduit Carrick Wheelers).

Their gap quickly spread to 25 seconds. And neither those behind intent on bridging across nor the bunch behind ceased chasing.

A lack of cohesion in the break allowed O’Connell and Blanchfield to stay clear.

They eventually came to the finish line for a two-up sprint; O’Connell coming out on top.

Cathal Purcell (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) and Cathal Moynihan (Tralee Manor West iBike) bounced out of the break to nab third and fourth.

The remaining places were mopped up by the rest of the escape, the bunch following close behind.


Sun, July 16th: Tipp Wheelers GP

Promoted by Tipp Wheelers

Golden, Co Tipperary

A1-A2 Willie Slattery Cup (100km)

1. Eoin O’Connell Killarney CC
2. Jamie Blanchfield Panduit Carrick Wheelers
3. Cathal Purcell Panduit Carrick Wheelers
4. Cathal Moynihan Tralee Manor West iBike
5. Colm Sheehan Blarney CC
6. Constantine Bartels Waterford Racing
7. Simon Ryan Strata 3 Velo Revolution
8. Daragh O’Mahoney O’Leary Stone Kanturk
9. Richard Maes Killarney CC
10. John Hodge Dungaree CC


Eoin O'Connell Jamie Blanchfield Tipp Wheelers GP
He didn’t win, but Cathal Purcell (fifth wheel) still gave his fans a thrill, blowing a kiss as he went through the start-finish in the break. He finished third in A1/2


A3 Eoin Bresnan Memorial (75km)

1. Stephen Geragthy Burren Racing Team
2. Shem Cullen Panduit Carrick Wheelers
3. Richard O’Brien Killarney CC
4. Andrew Farrell Wexford Wheelers
5. Anthony Gahan Limerick CC
6. Micheal Shine McCarthy
7. Micheal Looby Strata 3 Velo Revolution
8. James O’Connor Tipperary Wheelers
9. Brendan O’Sullivan Killorglin CC
10. Pierse Butler UDCC


Eoin O'Connell Jamie Blanchfield Tipp Wheelers GP

Armines Meskauskas is delighted to take a win for South Tipp CC in the A4 event.


A4 Race – 75km

1. Armines Meskauskas – South Tipp CC
2. Joe Ahern Cashel- Rock Peddlers
3. Sean O’Riordan – Valley Wheelers
4. Shane White – Raparee Dundrum
5. Martin Byrne – Unattached
6. Kevin Dunne – Cycle 4 Sick Children
7. Dwayne Ahern – Unattached
8. Gordon Booth – Laois