Barry and Young victorious in muddy Munster Cyclocross League

Posted on: November 12th, 2018

The look of delight says it all on the face of Richard Barry, he was best in the men’s race at the Munster Cyclocross League yesterday (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Richard Barry won the fifth round of the Munster Cyclocross League yesterday at Tramore Valley Park, Cork.

In the De Ronde Van Cork promotion the St Finbarr’s man took an early lead and extended it all the way.

He ran out the winner from Trevor Woods (Strata3-VeloRevolution) and Paidi O’Brien (Gerard –DHL)

Richard Maes of Killarney CC was 4th and he retains the overall lead in the series with two rounds remaining.

Grace Young of the promoting club won the women’s race having been in great form of late.

She finished ahead of series leader Lisa Stapelbroek (Kenmare Cycling Club) and Nessa Rochford (De Ronde Van Cork CC).


Grace Young wins the women’s race in the colours of promoters De Ronde Van Cork (Photo: Ciaran Moore)


Sun Nov 11: Round 5 Munster Cyclocross League

Promoted by De Ronde Van Cork

Tramore Valley Park, Cork

Men’s A Race

  1. Richard Barry St Finbarr’s CC
  2. Trevor Woods Strata3-VeloRevolution
  3. Paidi O’Brien Gerard –DHL
  4. Richard Maes Killarney CC

Women’s Race

  1. Grace Young De Ronde Van Cork CC
  2. Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare Cycling Club
  3. Nessa Rochford De Ronde Van Cork CC

Men’s B Race

  1. Denis O’Connor Sliabh Luachra
  2. Tom Hayes Revolution CC
  3. James Maddock Slaney CC