Confident Keogh takes the initiative to win at Mondello Series

Posted on: May 21st, 2019

Mondello Series winner Cian Keogh. He took the race into his own hands on the final lap and came away with his first win of the 2019 road race season (Photo: Sean Rowe)

Cian Keogh has won the latest round of the Mondello Series in Co Kildare with a late attack.

Having finished runner-up to Ronan McLaughlin at the recent Shay Elliott, 20-year-old Keogh said he was very hopeful his first win of the year was coming.

And he landed it this evening; adding the victory to some tidy road race wins last year, when he also won the national team pursuit title.

The Ciclotel Travel YPB rider was aggressive in the Irish Road Club Mondello promotion; going clear of the A1 scratch men in a small group.

Around the halfway mark he joined forces with Liam Curley (Strata 3-VeloRevolution) and Dermot Trulock (Lucan CRC) to catch the combined groups ahead.

Those efforts were soon cancelled out as in a matter of minutes the rest of the scratch men also made the catch.

Going the last lap, and with the field intact, Cian Keogh hit out early and gained a gap with about 1.5k to the line.

He put his head down and held off the bunch to claim the victory; Anthony Doyle (Strata 3-Velorevolution) taking 2nd place in a fixture he has often made his own.

Trulock still had the legs to take 3rd place from his team mate and veteran speedster John Priest.

Then came two of the younger guns; Jack Caldwell (Bio-DHL-FRS) in 5th and Aaron Wade (Vitus-NRPT-Chill) claiming 6th.

Caldwell’s team mate Jennifer Bates, who broke into the international paracycling panel as tandem pilot last year, was best woman on the night

And getting up for the unplaced A2, A3 and A4 pots were: David Casserly (Longford CTC), Eugene Murtagh (Lucan CRC) and John McCormack (Castleknock CC).

Teenager Ryan Geraghty (Bikeworx Celbridge) also got himself into the mix and he claimed the junior prize for his efforts.

Tues, May 21st: Mondello Series

Mondello Park, Co Kildare

Promoted by Irish Road Club

  1. Cian Keogh Ciclotel Travel
  2. Anthony Doyle Strata 3-VeloRevolution
  3. Dermot Trulock Lucan CRC
  4. John Priest Lucan CRC
  5. Jack Caldwell Bio-DHL-FRS
  6. Aaron Wade Vitus-NRPT-Chill

Unplaced A2

  1. David Casserly Longford CTC

Unplaced A3

  1. Eugene Murtagh Lucan CRC

Unplaced A4

  1. John McCormack Castleknock CC

Unplaced Junior

  1. Ryan Geraghty Bikeworx Celbridge

Leading Woman

  1. Jennifer Bates Bio-DHL-FRS