Mighty Monty takes elite cyclocross gold from O’Regan & Kinning

Posted on: January 11th, 2015

A delighted newly crowned men’s elite National Cyclocross Champion David Montgomery had almost two minutes on Timmy O’Regan crossing the line today. (Photo: Sean Rowe)


By Brian Canty

David Montgomery is the new elite men’s national cyclocross champion after blasting to a marvellous victory at Ward River Valley Park in Swords, north Dublin, this afternoon.

The Chainreactioncylcles man was a thoroughly deserving winner after seeing off the challenge of Timmy O’Regan (DID Dunboyne) and pre-race favourite Glenn Kinning (Kinning Cycles).

Montgomery’s win is all the more impressive given he started at the back of the grid today – behind 18 riders who received gridded positions in three rows up ahead.

But he wasted no time in chipping into the deficit and after Kinning stormed to a great start, the Belfast man soon faded and Montgomery got back on level terms.

The two were neck and neck around the midpoint of the race – around 20 seconds clear of a fragmented pack including O’Regan.

But Montgomery showed his class when he attacked on the closing laps and dropped Kinning, who was now in a real battle with O’Regan, who was catching him for silver.

Montgomery pressed on and had well over a minute taking the bell for the final lap, meaning only a disaster would have prevented him from taking the title.

He avoided any such misdemeanours and had almost two minutes on the next rider when he crossed the finish line.

It was a fantastic effort by the new champion, who came of age and put in the kind of ride befitting a man who will wear the champion’s jersey for the next 12 months.

It was frantic behind as even though O’Regan had a mechanical issue involving the mud preventing him from clipping into his pedals at times, he got going pretty soon again and the pursuit of Kinning began in earnest.

O’Regan overhauled last year’s bronze medallist and would hold on for a brilliant silver; Kinning having to be content with third place again after being passed by O’Regan on the last lap.

There was no U23 championships within the elite race as is usually the case because too few U23s entered.

We’ll have reaction and full results later.



National Cyclocross Championships

Brief Results

  1. David Montgomery (Chain Reaction CC)
  2. Timmy O’Regan (DID Electrical Dunboyne)
  3. Glenn Kinning (Kinning Cycles)


More to follow.