Ireland’s Matt Teggart youngest to finish European Road Champs

Posted on: August 12th, 2018

Matt Teggart

After a brutal 230km race, Irish U23 international Matt Teggart was still there with some of the top pro riders in the world. He was the youngest to finish the European Road Race Championships in a wet Glasgow.


Matt Teggart youngest to finish European Champs


Matt Teggart was the youngest finisher of the European Road Race Championships in Glasgow this afternoon.

The 22-year-old Team Wiggins rider was also the only Irishman to complete the course on a brutal day for racing.

Wet conditions were the order of the day on an undulating and technical circuit in the city.

The title was won by Italy’s Matteo Trentin from a breakaway. The two stars of the cyclocross world – Mathieu Van der Poel of Holland and Wout Van Aert of Belgium – took silver and bronze.

Matt Teggart finished in 38th at 2:57 on a day when just 51 riders stayed the course.

While Teggart was the only Irish finisher, Robert Jon-McCarthy flew the flag for much of the race. He attacked very early in the 230km race and would spend about 150km out front.


Matt Teggart

Matt Teggart

The Irish team at the start, left to right: Potts, McCarthy, Teggart, Dunbar and Dunne. Trentin winning the title after almost six hours in the saddle.


When McCarthy went, others were willing to go with him. As a result the Irishman found himself in a very steady breakaway.

With him up the road was Matthias Krizek (Austria) along with Roland Thalmann (Switzerland).

Josef Cerny (Czech Republic) was also there, with Polychronis Tzortzakis (Greece), Krists Neilands (Lithuania) and Mikhel Räim (Estonia).

However, the Estonian was dropped leaving six out front to press on. They pulled out more than five minutes but were let go no further.

McCarthy dropped back with about 80km remaining. And with 70km to go it was clear the break’s time out front was about to come to an end; Italy, France and Belgium keen to chase.

The attacks began from the peloton at that point and once they did the 30 seconds or so the remaining breakaway riders still had was wiped out.

And once the escape was caught at the attacking commenced it as a war of attrition; the field getting smaller in the splits every lap.

And though Eddie Dunbar, Conor Dunne, Marc Potts and McCarthy would abandon, Matt Teggart hung in.

Indeed he was visible at the front of the reduced peloton with just a couple of the 16 laps remaining.


Matt Teggart

Matt Teggart

Peter Sagan and Adam Blythe were among the majority of the starters who abandoned.


When just under 50km to go, attacking from the peloton really intensified. Eventually the pressure forced a 10-man breakaway clear. And they would never be caught.

The Dutch and Italians had two apiece in the move; Mathieu Van der Poel and Maurits Lammertink for Holland and Davide Cimolai and Matteo Trentin for Italy.

Belgium also had two; Xandro Meurisse and Wout Van Aert. The others present were: Emils Liepins (Latvia), Nico Denz (Germany), Michael Albasini (Switzerland), Jesús Herrada (Spain) and Pierre Luc Périchon (France).

However, just as the racing dipped inside 10km to go a crash occurred up front. Lammertink hit some barriers after a right turn and fell. That caused a ripple down the line with others also falling.

Those to survive were Van Aert, Van der Poel, Cimolai, Trentin and Herrada. And while Meurisse regained contact after a long chase, he was spent.

Cimolai would attack on the last lap but was easily reeled back in; Van der Poel and then Van Aert bringing him back.

That paved the way for a sprint, won by a delighted Trentin from Van der Poel, Van Aert, Herrada and Cimolai in that order.

After them, the field was split to pieces. The biggest group on the road was just 17 riders. They were sprinting for 18th place at 2:32 just 25 seconds ahead of Matt Teggart.