Marc Heaney comes of age, beats quality Noel Teggart field

Posted on: June 19th, 2017

Marc Heaney

Marc Heaney takes the A1-A2 race at the Noel Teggart Memorial. He is home from his Belgium base and goes into the National Championships with a welcome confidence-booster. Heaney will be going for the U23 medals in Wexford next weekend (All photos by David McVeigh – Belgian Project)


Marc Heaney wins Noel Teggart Memorial


Sun, June 18th: Noel Teggart Memorial

Banbridge, Co Down

Promoted by Banbridge CC

A1-A2 Race (130km)

1 Marc Heaney Asfra Racing
2 Adam Armstrong Caldwell Cycles
3 Jude Sands Newry Wheelrs
4 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport
5 Connor McCann Inspired Cycling
6 Shane Smith Moynalty CC
7 Liam Dolan Cuchulainn CC
8 David Watson Bikehouse CC
9 Ryan Reilly AC Bisontine
10 Craig Rea Phoenix CC
11 Cameron McIntyre AC Bisontine
12 Karl Morgan Phoenix CC
13 Christopher Birney Team Sportactive Racing
14 Stephen Cunningham Shimna
15 Angus Fyffe Omagh Wheelers
16 Alan Bingham Cuchulainn CC
17 Gary Donaldson Omagh Wheelers
18 Ciaran O’Hagan Caldwell Cycles
19 Kevin McKinney Armagh City Cyclist
20 James Curry AC Bisontine
21 Conor Halvey NRPT
A2 Prize
1 Marc Heaney Asfra Racing
2 Stephen Cunningham Shimna
3 Ciaran O’Hagan Caldwell Cycles


Marc Heaney Noel Teggart

Simon Curry, far left, of the host club beats Powerhouse Sport’s Adam Ward and Liam Wilson in the A3 race (Photo: DavidMcVeigh-BelgiumProject)


A3 Race (112km)

1 Simon Curry Banbridge CC
2 Adam Ward Powerhouse Sport
3 Liam Wilson Powerhouse Sport
4 Paul Mulligan Caldwell Cycles
5 Brendan Doherty VC Glendale
6 John Buller Banbridge CC
7 Caolem McCarter Omagh Wheelers
8 Barry McKenna Fintona CC
9 Matthew McAllister Island Wheelers
10 Andrew Burns Shelbourne-Orchard CC
11 Mark McGinley Four Matters
12 David Heaney Maryland Wheelers
13 Mark Gordon Newry Wheelers
14 Barry Tinnilly Newry Wheelers
15 David Frizell West Down Wheelers
16 Shea Gribbon Carn Wheelers
17 Michael Boal Team Madigan
18 Matt McLaughlin Phoenix CC
19 To Be Confirmed
20 Conor Bradley Bann Wheelers
21 Jack Ferguson Dromara CC


A4 Race (93km)

1 Gareth Conn Curran Racing
2 Stephen Fitzsimmons Banbridge CC
3 Finbar Dooey Dunloy CC
4 Jon Hilditch Ballymena RC
5 David Broome Dromara CC
6 Adrian Daly Armagh City Cyclist
7 Gareth Kerrigan Four Masters CC
8 Paul Campbell Velocity Road Club
9 Christopher McCorry Clann Eireann
10 Darren McCann Dromara CC
11 Macdara O’Graham Velo Cafe Magasin
12 Adrain Kelly Omagh Wheelers
13 Oliver Sloan VCM
14 Darren Irwin East Tyrone
15 To Be Confirmed VC Glendale
16 Neil McCartan Powerhouse Sport
17 Chris McCann Phoenix CC
18 Chris Burns Banbridge CC
19 Ronan Kennedy Banbridge CC
20 Brian McComb East Tyrone
First Woman Lorraine Mullarkey Emayvale CC


U16 Race (55km)

1 Ciaran Cahoon Clann Eireann
2 Cathal Gallagher Errigal
3 Dylan Traynor AAA Cycling
4 Christopher Donald Team Madigan
5 Paul Antoine Hagan Team Vision Racing


U14 Race (17km)

1 Rowan Montgomery Ballymoney CC
2 Odhran Doogan Powerhoue Sport
3 Somhairle Owens Fisher Omagh Wheelers
4 Joseph Owens Omagh Wheelers
5 Johnnie McAuley Team Madigan
6 Maia Simmons North Down CC (1st Girl)


U12 Race (9km)

1 Adam Rafferty Island Wheelers
2 Harry Irwin East Tyrone
3 Aaron Archibald Ballymoney CC
4 Aine Doherty VC Glendale (1st Girl)
5 Caolan McHugh Four Masters
6 Seith Dunwoody Orchard Wh-Shelbourne