USA’s Lamperti wins as Ireland’s Smith presses for yellow jersey

Posted on: July 13th, 2018

Irish rider Mark Smith made an excellent bid for the yellow jersey today at the Junior Tour of Ireland. But it was Luke Lamperti, above on far left, who took stage victory. The rider in blue pulled his foot out of the pedal but managed to stay upright (Photo: Stephen McMahon – Sportsfile)


By Graham Gillespie

Luke Lamperti of Team Swift has won today’s stage 4 of the Junior Tour of Ireland into Ballyvaughan, Co Clare.

Irish rider Mark Smith, a Sports Room Racing man riding for Leinster this week, was the virtual yellow jersey for much of the stage.

He started this morning’s stage 6th overall; best placed Irish rider and just 26 seconds off the race lead.

The 120-kilometre race finished in a bunch sprint after a break of six riders was caught by the peloton before the final kilometre.

Stage 2 winner Shay Donley was once again the best of the Irish as he grabbed another podium finish.

The Team Ireland rider finished 3rd. And that was enough for him to hold onto the green points jersey.

Donley was just behind South Africa’s Rickardo Broxham who had to settle for being runner up for the second day straight.

Donley’s teammate Cathir Doyle maintained his lead in the climbers’ classification, despite not picking up any points today.

Hot Tube’s Magnus Sheffield held onto the leader’s yellow after finishing in the main bunch.

Shieffield also leads the first-year junior competition. But since he is already wearing yellow, Logan McClean (Lux Specialized) will wear that jersey tomorrow.


Top down: Mark Smith rode off the front for most of the stage and had it worked out he would be leading the race. Yellow jersey Sheffield leads the chase. The peloton from above on today’s stage 4 (Photos: StephenMcMahon-Sportsfile)


A group of eight riders had a one-minute lead from about 20 kilometres before the cat 1 climb at Corkscrew.

In this break were three Holowesko-Citadel riders; Alastair Pounder, Nathaniel Moser and Henry Lutz.

Lance Davidson (Dornier) was also present along with Logan Maclean (Edinburgh) and Ben Wright (Lux Specialised).

Finally, there was two Irish riders in the attack; Leinster’s Mark Smith and Team Ireland’s Liam Curley.

It was Moser who reached the summit of Corkscrew first. He was followed by Maclean and Wright.

The breakaway’s gap of around one minute remained consistent for most of the stage. That lead made Leinster’s Smith the virtual race leader for much of the day.

And indeed they still had their advantage at the second KOH of the day after 86.5km.

Davidson reached the top of the cat 3 climb at Grotto first; followed by Maclean and Moser.

Pounder and Wright were then dropped from the lead group with about 20 kilometres to go. However, the other six riders nearly made it all the way to the finish

The six still held a 23 second lead with five kilometres to go. And it looked as if the peloton’s chase would come right down to the wire.

The break would fall just short; the race coming together as they entered Ballyvaughan for the last kilometre.

Lamperti would take what was a massive bunch sprint to claim the victory; avoiding a near crash in the sprint in the process.

That incident occurred in the centre of the bunch;  one rider almost falling but saving himself. Lamperti was on the far right and had a clear run at the line.


Stage 4: Ennis-Ballyvaughan (127km)

  1. Lamperti, Luke Team Swift 2h55’14”
  2. Broxham, Rickardo South Africa
  3. Donley, Shay Ireland
  4. Lewis, Matthew Mid West Britain
  5. Oliveira, Matthew Hot Tubes 2
  6. Kennedy, Sean NRPT– Chill Ins
  7. Pounder, Alastair Holowesko Citadel
  8. Maher, Lane Hot Tubes
  9. Halvey, Conor Ulster
  10. Allwein, Enzo USA Talent ID East
  11. Gallagher, Conor Ireland
  12. Scott, Jared Lux/SideshowSpecializ
  13. Pugh, Samuel Salt AyreCogset
  14. Peatfield, Isaac Green Jersey RT GBR
  15. Lamberink, Steyn Tempo-Hoppenbrouwers
  16. McGlynn, Michael Ulster
  17. Da Silva,  Tiano South Africa
  18. McLain, Logan Lux/SideshowSpecializ
  19. Hanley, Liam Lucan Cycling Road Cl

Full results from race organisers available here


General Classification

  1. Sheffield, Magnus Hot Tubes 7h50’38”
  2. Broxham, Rickardo South Africa @08″
  3. Vollmer, Andrew Lux/SideshowSpec @18″
  4. Oliveira, Matthew Hot Tubes 2 @22″
  5. McLain, Logan Lux/SideshowSpec = s/t
  6. Smith, Mark Cycling Leinster @26″
  7. Lamperti, Luke Team Swift = s/t
  8. McGlynn, Michael Ulster @30″
  9. Noonan, James Hoppers Rollers @31″
  10. Scott, Jared Lux/SideshowSpec @32″
  11. Doyle, Cathir Ireland @33″
  12. Lutz, Henry HoloweskoCitade = s/t
  13. Chass, Isaiah Team Swift @34″
  14. Leveridge, Cian Matt South Africa @35″
  15. Husted, Eli Hot Tubes = s/t
  16. Spenkelink, Ian Tempo-Hoppenbrou = s/t
  17. Donley, Shay Ireland = s/t
  18. Da Silva, Tiano South Africa @36″
  19. McCambridge, Kevin Ulster @37″
  20. Jones, Seth Dornier Racing T = s/t