UCD’s Simon Jones breaks through with impressive Lucan GP win

Posted on: March 16th, 2019

Lucan GP winner Simon Jones: It was a very rough day for racing but it suited some riders down to the group; UCD’s Simon Jones among them. He won the main event.


Simon Jones of UCD Cycling Club has taken a solo victory at the Lucan GP in Co Meath today.

Over five laps of the Dunsany circuit on a very wet and cold day for racing, Jones won by being strongest.

He was active off the front very early in the 88km contest promoted by Lucan CRC.

And even when a three-man move he was in from the start was caught by five, he proved better than the fresher legs.

His three-man group swelled to eight by the halfway point and was then trimmed back a little, with two riders losing their places.

That left six comprised of Jones, Andrew Maguire and Luke Smith of Bio-DHL-FR Services, Gareth O’Neill (Newry Wheelers), Liam Curley (Strata 3-Velo) and Paul Forristal (Scott-Orwell).

While Jones had been up the road from the very early stages of the race, he had the legs to attack with about 6km remaining.

He got a gap and hit out hard for the chequered flag, taking it very comfortably in the end.


Aaron Wade takes the A3 race from a two-man breakaway; Eoin Ferriter doing a great ride too but being forced to settled for the runner-up spot.


Behind Jones, the remains of the breakaway battled it out for the minor placings, with Maguire and O’Neill taking 2nd and 3rd.

Then came Forristal in 4th followed by Curley and Smith in that order to compete the top six.

In the A3 race, again a breakaway prevailed but this time it was made up of only two men.

Aaron Wade, the NRPT-Chill rider who has broken into the junior national team set-up, went clear with Eoin Ferriter of Drogheda Wheelers.

And at the finish it was Wade who proved strongest; taking the victory from his breakaway companion.

After the leading pair had finished, Fergal Regan (Murphy Surveys Kilcullen) rounded out the podium.

David O’Sullivan (Sports Room) was next from Jamie McMorrow (Drogheda Wheelers) and Peter Bates (Iveagh Velo).

In the A4 event, John Sheridan (St Tiernan’s) took an impressive solo win from Aaron Henry (Irish Road Club) and Patrick Menelly (UCD Cycling Club).


Sat, March 16th: Lucan GP

Promoted by Lucan CRC

Dunsany, Co Meath

A1-A2 Race

  1. Simon Jones UCD Cycling Club
  2. Andrew Maguire Bio-DHL-FRS
  3. Gareth O Neil Newry wheelers
  4. Paul Forristal Scott Orwell
  5. Liam Curley Strata 3-Velo
  6. Luke Smith Bio-DHL-FRS

Unplaced A2s

  1. Darragh Zaidan Arcane CT
  2. Joel Luke Bio-DHL-FRS
  3. Tilt Talus St Tiernan’s CC


A3 Race

  1. Aaron Wade NRPT-Chill
  2. Eoin Ferriter Drogheda Wheelers
  3. Fergal Regan Murphy Surveyors
  4. David O Sullivan Sports room
  5. Jamie McMorrow Drogheda Wheelers
  6. Peter Bates Iveagh Velo Unplaced

Unplaced Juniors

  1. Conor Murphy Scott Orwell Wheelers
  2. Sean Lenham Navan Road Club

Unplaced A3s

  1. Colm Bracken Murphy Surveyors
  2. Mark Sheath Emyvale CC

Leading Woman

  1. Jennifer Neenan Sundrive Track Team


A4 Race

  1. John Sheridan St Tiernan’s
  2. Aaron Henry Irish Road Club
  3. Patrick Menelly UCD Cycling Club
  4. Richard McBride Banbridge CC
  5. Shane Cole Drogheda Wheelers
  6. Patrick Walsh Scott-Orwell