Lindsay Watson, Eileen Burns draw first blood at Ernie Magwood 10s

Posted on: April 8th, 2019

Lindsay Watson was best in the opening round of the Ernie Magwood 10 mile TT series, the only ride in a large field to go under 20 minutes. Eileen Burns also impressed; first of the women in the field and 11th quickest (Photos by Toby Watson)

Lindsay Watson and Eileen Burns were best in the opening round of the Ernie Magwood Super 6 TT series yesterday.

Watson was the only rider of the 72-strong field to dip under 20 minutes for the 10 mile test; clocking a time of 19.56.

That was 13 seconds faster than runner-up Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles). Andrew Robinson of Bann Wheelers was 3rd a further 10 seconds back; a strong ride by the junior.

Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport) has been riding very strongly since the start of the campaign and his win in Ballymena yesterday was his third win of the year.

He has also claimed victory in the PJ Logan Cup and Tour of Ards and took 2nd in both the East Tyrone GP and McCann Cup.

Best of the women yesterday was Irish international rider Eileen Burns. The Ballymena Road Club cyclist was 11th in the combined male and female team; a strong showing.

She recorded a time of 21:27, some 2:49 faster than Meta Johnston (Team Madigan) and Lisa Lamont (Ballymena Road Club) who both did 24.16.

Sun, April 7: Ernie Magwood Super 6 TT

Round 1: Crankill Rd, Ballymena 10 Miles

  1. Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport Elite 19.56
  2. Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles Omagh Elite 20.09
  3. Andrew Robinson Bann Wheelers CC Junior 20.19
  4. Aaron Watson Dromara Cycling Club Elite 20.29
  5. William Loughridge Team Bottrill M40 20.38
  6. John Madden Inspired Cycling M50 20.40
  7. Adam Skeet Northern/Dave Kane Elite 20.45
  8. Stephen Colbert Ballymena Road Club M40 20.46
  9. Johnny Kane Foyle CC M40 21.15
  10. Alistair Robinson Bann Wheelers CC M50 21.25
  11. Eileen Burns Ballymena Road Club Ladies 21.27
  12. John Rafferty Ards CC M50 21.31
  13. David Gibson Bann Wheelers CC M40 21.34
  14. Gary Jeffers East Tyrone Cycling Club Elite 21.39
  15. Andrew Chivers Ciclotel Travel Fueled By YPB Elite 21.39
  16. Ronan Fitzpatrick Breffni Wheelers Elite 21.49
  17. Feargal Magee Apollo CT M50 22.02
  18. Jason Burns Ballymena Road Club M40 22.11
  19. Paul Keogh Yeats Country Cycling Club Sligo M40 22.16
  20. Glen Howe Bann Wheelers CC M50 22.24
  21. Barry Russell Carn Wheelers M40 22.27
  22. David Heagney Carn Wheelers M40 22.33
  23. James Mullan Bann Wheelers CC M40 22.41
  24. Allen Bell Bann Wheelers CC M40 22.42
  25. Simon Diffin Armagh City Cyclists Elite 22.44
  26. Kevin McCrossan Four Masters CC M60 22.52
  27. Johnny Webb North Down CC M50 23.01
  28. Anthony McConville Apollo CT M40 23.03
  29. Uel Cunningham Ballymoney CC M50 23.04
  30. Jonathan Denvir Dromore CC Elite 23.10
  31. Eddie Hampton Ballymena Road Club M40 23.16
  32. Fergus Byrne Ballymena Road Club Elite 23.24
  33. Rory McIntyre Apollo CT M40 23.27
  34. David Dickson Dromara Cycling Club Elite 23.36
  35. John Rooney Phoenix CC M40 23.41
  36. Marek Pluciniczak Portadown Cycling Club M40 23.48
  37. Pat Dunnion Finn Wheelers M60 23.49
  38. Andrew Jess Ards CC M50 23.51
  39. Seamus Walsh Phoenix CC M50 24.02
  40. Adrian Kerr Ballymena Road Club M50 24.04
  41. Philip Loughlin Armagh Down CC M40 24.07
  42. Ivor Smyth Omagh Wheelers M50 24.10
  43. Nev Smyth Northern/Dave Kane M40 24.11
  44. Colin McGready Cornerstone Cycle Club M60 24.14
  45. Meta Johnston Team Madigan C.C. Ladies 24.16
  46. Lisa Lamont Ballymena Road Club Ladies 24.16
  47. Kevin Walker Dromara Cycling Club M40 24.18
  48. Andy Blair Square Wheels CC M40 24.22
  49. Alan Somerville East Tyrone Cycling Club M50 24.29
  50. Jane Wilkinson Bann Wheelers CC Ladies 24.45
  51. Graeme Millar Kings Moss CC M40 24.46
  52. Peadar Curran Banbridge CC M50 24.48
  53. Stephen McDonald Phoenix CC M60 25.08
  54. Eamon Toland Strabane/Lifford CC M60 25.08
  55. Niall Simpson SMCC Lisburn M50 25.10
  56. Trevor Wright Cornerstone Cycle Club M50 25.26
  57. William Orr Ards CC M50 25.30
  58. Colin Wilson Ards CC M50 25.44
  59. Gillian Orr North Down CC Ladies 26.00
  60. Fiona O’Neill Newry Wheelers CC Ladies 26.03
  61. Noel Johnston Carn Wheelers M60 26.35
  62. Grace Smith Ballymena Road Club Ladies 26.59
  63. Joanne Regan Ballymena Road Club Ladies 27.11
  64. Lorraine Jeffers East Tyrone Cycling Club Ladies 27.13
  65. Lynn Shiels Spires CC Ladies 27.15
  66. Joann Lowry Ballymena Road Club Ladies 27.30
  67. Ellie Kelso TC Racing Ladies 27.53
  68. White Sarah Arcane Ladies 29.32
  69. Michael O’Neill Termoneeny CC Elite 30.09
  70. Jim Corbett Banbridge CC Para-Handcyclist 31.05
  71. Darrell Erwin Ballymena Road Club Para-Handcyclist 35.12
  72. Ted McKibbin Dromara Cycling Club Para-Handcyclist 40.07