Lindsay Watson converts flying form into East Tyrone GP win

Posted on: April 14th, 2018

Lindsay Watson wins East Tyrone GP

Lindsay Watson has been flying since the start of the season. He took victory today at the East Tyrone GP ahead of some very strong riders (Photo: David McVeigh – The Belgian Project)


Lindsay Watson takes East Tyrone GP win


One of the men of the season so far, Lindsay Watson has taken victory in the East Tyrone GP today.

The Powerhouse Sport man has put in a string of top performances of late. But after five podium placings he has now take his first win of the year.

Watson proved too strong at the finish today in the East Tyrone CC-promoted event in Loup, Co Derry, for the other breakaway men.

Angus Fyffe of Caldwell Cycles had to settle for 2nd place on the day. And James Curry, riding this year for VC La Pomme Marseille.

Watson had taken 3rd places in the Annaclone GP, Tour of Ards and on the opening stage of the Tour of the North.

And he has been 2nd in the PJ Logan Cup and stage three of the Tour of the North; where he was 4th overall and top won the climbers’ classification.

In the A3 race today Powerhouse Sport were also on top; taking a 1-2 with Cathir Doyle and Adam Ward. Matt McLaughlin of Phoenix CC rounded out the podium.

Conor Cush of Clogher Valley Wheelers won the A4 event from Mark Pluciniczak of Portadown CC and Keith O’Donnell from Finn Wheelers.


Lindsay Watson wins East Tyrone GP

Doyle and Ward come in for a Powerhouse Sport 1st and 2nd in the A3 event.


Sat, April 14th: East Tyrone GP

Loup, Co Derry

Promoted by East Tyrone CC

A1-A2 Race (56.4 miles)

1 Lindsay Watson Powerhouse Sport
2 Angus Fyffe Caldwell Cycles Omagh
3 James Curry VC La Pomme Marseille
4 Gary Donaldson Caldwell Cycles Omagh
5 Gareth O’Neill Newry Wheelers CC
6 Donal Sheares Phoenix CC
7 Conor McCann Inspired Cycling
8 Des Woods Newry Wheelers CC
9 Mark McClure  Caldwell Cycles Omagh
10 Rory Devlin Inishowen CC


A3 Race (47 miles)

1 Cathir Doyle Powerhouse Sport
2 Adam Ward Powerhouse Sport
3 Matt McLaughlin Phoenix CC
4 Nigel Connelly SLCC
5 Shay Donnelly NRPT-Chill Insurance
6 Stewart Thomson Spires CC
7 Mark Farquar East Tyrone CC
8 John James Manerney Armagh City CC
9 Aaron Watson Dromara CC
10 Barry McKenna Fintona CC


A4 Race (37.6 miles)

1 Conor Cush Clogher Valley Wheelers
2 Mark Pluciniczak Portadown CC
3 Keith Donnell Finn Wheelers
4 Jacob Allison Phoenix CC
5 Warren Campbell Dromore CC
6 Kieren Byrne Lakeland CC
7 David Robinson Kings Moss CC
8 Pete Batey Dromore CC
9 Neal Calderwood Carn Wheelers
10 Barry Mullin Termon Wheelers CC


Masters Race

1 John Rafferty Ards CC
2 Brian Hannon Banbridge CC
3 Henry O’Neill Newry Wheelers CC


Women’s Race

1 Laura Campbell Ballymena RC
2 Tanya Moran Foyle CC
3 Laura Wylie Maryland CC