Newry boys rip it up in style to dominate John Haldane Memorial

Posted on: March 10th, 2019

Mark McKinley comes in at the head of affairs to take victory in the main event at the John Haldane Memorial. He was just ahead of Newry Wheelers team mate Des Woods. And behind them another member of the club, Jude Sands, took 3rd for a clean sweep of the podium (Photo: Toby Watson)


Mark McKinley and Des Woods took a very impressive 1-2 for Newry Wheelers at the John Haldane Memorial promoted by their own club.

The Newry duo started in the A2 group some two minutes ahead of the A1 scratch men in the handicapped race.

Held on the Warrenpoint-Newry dual carriageway, the main event did five laps with the eventual winner and runner-up riding a great race in brutal wintery conditions.

McKinley Woods got clear in a five-man escape from the A2 group, clearly keen to be up the road if and when the A1 riders caught the A2s.

Ronan McLaughlin (Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo), Angus Fyffe (Caldwell Cycles Omagh) and David Watson (Bikehouse) made that catch.

However, by the time they got up to the A2s, Woods and McKinley had taken flight; leaving the breakaway when the cooperation levels dropped.

And though the remains of the early escape were bolstered by the arrival of A1 legs, the Newry pair out front survived to share the spoils.


McCambridge wins the A3-Junior race from a breakaway; a great start for the Irish junior team rider (Photo: TobyWatson)


While the leaders were getting to the finish line as quickly as possible, Sands was playing the team card smartly just back the road.

With two team mates leading and headed for 1st and 2nd, he marked the group he was in; minding himself on the run-in.

And when the finish line approached, showing the legs that won him the Phoenix GP last week, he pounced for 3rd place.

It meant a clean sweep for Newry after a master class of both strength and streetwise riding.

Watson then took 4th place from Jody Wright (Phoenix CC) and last weekend’s Cycleways Cup winner Fyffe.

The women’s race came down to a group sprint with Clodagh Ní Ghallchóir (AAA) winning; another strong ride for the emerging Donegal woman.

She got the better of Jennifer Bates (Bio-DHL-FR Services) and Grace Smith (Ballymena RC).

In the A3-Junior race Kevin McCambridge (NRPT) demonstrated why he’s in the national junior squad this year with victory from a three-man escape.

And again it was the Newry riders on the attack; Kevin Lynch and Henry O’Neill taking 2nd and 3rd for the host club.

The A4 contest came down to a bunch sprint won by Brian Daly (Marble City) from Philip Castles (West Down CC) and Gary McNeill (Velo Café Magasin).


Sun, March 10th: John Haldane Memorial

Promoted by Newry Wheelers Cycling Club

Sponsored by Haldane Fisher & McKinley Contracts

A1-A2 Race

  1. Mark McKinley Newry Wheelers CC
  2. Des Woods Newry Wheelers CC
  3. Jude Sands Newry Wheelers CC
  4. David Watson Bikehouse
  5. Jody Wright Phoenix CC
  6. Angus Fyffe Caldwell Cycles Omagh
  7. Karl Morgan Phoenix CC
  8. Ronan Mc Laughlin Dan Morrissey-MIG-Pactimo
  9. John Morton Harps CC
  10. Mark McGinley Four Masters CC


Women’s Race

  1. Clodagh Ní Ghallchóir AAA
  2. Jennifer Bates Bio-DHL-FR Services
  3. Grace Smith Ballymena RC
  4. Joann Lowry Ballymena RC
  5. Teresa Parr Newry Wheelers
  6. Ciara Havern Newry Wheelers


A3 Race

  1. Kevin McCambridge NRPT
  2. Kevin Lynch Newry Wheelers
  3. Henry O’Neill Newry Wheelers
  4. Shay Donley Zappi Racing
  5. Christopher Donald Team Madigan
  6. Jason Burns Ballymena RC
  7. Thomas Creighton McConvey Cycles
  8. Fergus Byrne Ballymena RC
  9. Keith O’Donnell Finn Wheelers
  10. Donal Watson Four Masters


A4 Race

  1. Brian Daly Marble City
  2. Philip Castles West Down CC
  3. Gary McNeill Velo Café Magasin
  4. Michael Boyd Unattached
  5. James Philip West Down CC
  6. Aaron McCann Drogheda  Wheelers
  7. Stephen Maguire Square Wheelers
  8. Gareth Kirkwood Madigan
  9. Jonathon Denver Dromore CC
  10. Larry McCabe Newry Wheelers