Millar conquers Coolnasillagh Mountain to win Irish A3 road race title

Posted on: September 10th, 2017

Gary Millar wins Irish cycling A3 road champs

The summit finish meant the race really broke in the closing stages. And in the A3 event it was Gary Millar who win the Irish road race title (Photo: Sharon McFarland)


Gary Millar wins Irish cycling A3 road champs


Phoenix CC’s Gary Millar has become Irish cycling A3 road race champion in Derry this afternoon.

He saw off the challenge of Samuel Carmichael (Roe Valley), who pressed him but had to be content with silver.

Brian Malone (Park Wheelers) completed the championship podium a little further back.

Unusually for a championship race in Ireland, the A3 and junior road races featured a summit finish; Coolnasillagh Mountain.

It meant the field was also going to split. And today Millar was too strong for everybody else.

He would finish just four seconds ahead of Carmichael, with Malone a further 17 seconds back.

Adam Cunningham (Velo Club Mourne) and Roger Brown (Roe Valley) were 4th and 5th some 30 seconds down.

Another three seconds later Emmet Tuite (Murphy Surveys Kilcullen) and Colin Fox (Harp CC) took 6th and 7th.

In 8th place was Timothy Duffy (Unattached Leinster) at 37 seconds. And six seconds after him Niall Bleeks (Phoenix CC) and Richard Topping (Ards CC) concluded the top 10.

The total race distance was 65.5 miles. There were five laps around the Tobermore, Desertmartin, Magherafelt and Tobermore circuit.

And on the last lap the race took the Lisnamuck Road to Five Mile Straight crossroads and on to Coolnasillagh Mountain, adjacent to the Glenshane Pass.

More to follow.


A3 Road Race Championships (65.5 miles)

1 Gary Millar (Phoenix CC) 2:47:39
2 Samuel Carmichael (Roe Valley) @4secs
3 Brian Malone (Park Wheelers) @21
4 Adam Cunningham (Velo Club Mourne) @30
5 Roger Brown (Roe Valley)
6 Emmet Tuite (Murphy Surveys Kilcullen) @33
7 Colin Fox (Harp CC)
8 Timothy Duffy (Unattached Leinster) @37
9 Niall Bleeks (Phoenix CC) @43
10 Richard Topping (Ards CC)
11 Ciaran O Brannagain (Park Wheelers) @45
12 Alan Glendinning (Island Wheelers) @53