Dutchman wins Junior Tour stage but Irish riders press hard

Posted on: July 12th, 2018

It was a Dutch winner on stage 3 of the Junior Tour of Ireland. But the Irish national team, and club riders, fought their way into the top 10 (All photos by Stephen McMahon of Sportsfile)


After the Irish win yesterday at the Junior Tour, today’s stage 3 has gone to one of the foreign visitors.

Ian Spenkelink, of the Dutch Tempo Veldhoven team, has claimed victory in a sprint from a reduced bunch into Ennis, Co Clare.

He saw off Rickardo Broxham, the South African national champion who was 3rd on the stage 1 TT into Drumquin on Tuesday.

And rounding out the podium on the day was Issac Peatfield of the British Green Jersey RT.

Yesterday’s stage winner, Shay Donley of Team Ireland, finished in 4th place.

Tomas Walsh of Comeragh CC forced his way into the reckoning; his 6th place today a very tidy result.

Another club man to make his presence felt was Liam Hanley. The Lucan CRC man claimed 7th place on a day when the peloton was trimmed to 70 riders.

The 101km stage took the riders from Ennis out to the Cliffs of Moher and back to finish where they started.



Yellow jersey Magnus Sheffield (Hot Tubes) retained his race lead. Spenkelink takes the green points jersey from Donley.

And Cathir Doyle (Team Ireland) retains the polka dot jersey for leading climber.

He set out his stall early, collecting maximum points on the first climb – a cat 3 after 16.7km.

Matthew Riccitello (Lux Specialized) attacked just after that first climb. He never pulled out a large gap; his advantage maxing out at about 30 seconds.

However, he remained in the lead on his own for about 25km before being joined by Samuel Pugh (Salt Ayer Cogset).

Once they combined their efforts the gap began to grow. It extended to 50 seconds as two other riders set off from the bunch to chase them down.

However, that chase by Lane Maher (Hot Tubes) and Lance Davidson (Dornier) was short-lived.

And as they split and then each went back to the bunch, the two leaders pressed on and their gap grew.

When it reach 1:05, Pugh had become the virtual yellow jersey with a cushion of almost 20 seconds.

He had started the stage 48 seconds down on race leader Magnus Sheffield (Hot Tubes). Riccitello was 49 seconds off the lead at the start of the day.

However, the Cliffs of Moher climb began at the 52km marker and by the time the race was over it the leaders were caught.

Michael McGlynn (Cycling Ulster) showed his class in taking maximum points at the top; not the first time this year he has shown some real climbing prowess.

Luke Lamperti (Swift) and Henry Lutz (Holowesko Citad) would attack and ride clear after the climb, though the racing would regroup again.

And then it was the turn of the Irish national team to show its hand; Conor Gallagher attacking and pulling out a gap.

He had about 15 seconds with 10km remaining before being joined by Aidan McNeil (Team Swift).

However, they were kept on a very tight leash and with 4km remaining they were caught, setting it up for a bunch sprint.


Stage 3: Ennis-Ennis (101.7km)

  1. Spenkelink, Ian Tempo-Hoppenbrouwers 2h31’50”
  2. Broxham, Rickardo South Africa
  3. Peatfield, Isaac Green Jersey RT GBR
  4. Donley, Shay Ireland
  5. Moore, Eric Holowesko Citadel
  6. Walsh, Tomas Comeragh
  7. Hanley, Liam Lucan Cycling Road Cl
  8. Vliek, Mike Tempo-Hoppenbrouwers
  9. Chu, Josh USA Talent ID East
  10. Lamperti, Luke Team Swift
  11. Alexander, James Mid West Britain
  12. Jones, Seth Dornier Racing Team
  13. Lewis, Matthew Mid West Britain
  14. Law, Joe Green Jersey RT GBR
  15. Chass, Isaiah Team Swift all same time


General Classification

  1. Sheffield, Magnus Hot Tubes 4h55’24”
  2. Broxham, Rickardo South Africa @08″
  3. Vollmer, Andrew Lux/SideshowSpec @18″
  4. Oliveira, Matthew Hot Tubes 2 @22″
  5. McLain, Logan Lux/SideshowSpec
  6. Smith, Mark Cycling Leinster @26″
  7. Lamperti, Luke Team Swift
  8. McGlynn, Michael Ulster @30″
  9. Noonan, James Hoppers Rollers @31″
  10. Scott, Jared Lux/SideshowSpec @32″
  11. Doyle, Cathir Ireland @33″
  12. Lutz, Henry Holowesko Citade
  13. Chass, Isaiah Team Swift @34″
  14. Leveridge, Cian Matt South Africa @35″
  15. Husted, Eli Hot Tubes