Ian Richardson strikes again at Hammond Memorial, with full results

Posted on: June 18th, 2017

Ian Richardson strikes again at Hammond Memorial

Ian Richardson has taken a really strong victory just ahead of the National Road Championships (Photo: Sean Rowe)


Ian Richardson strikes at Hammond Memorial TT


Just over one week after taking victory in the Naas Open TT, Ian Richardson has powered to Hammond Memorial TT victory.

The test, in memory of Noel and Kieran Hammond, was run off in beautiful summer conditions, with winner Richardson in sizzling form to match.

Last Saturday in Kildare the UCD-FitzCycles man beat best of the rest Conn McDunphy (Lucan CRC) by 1:20 over 46.96km.

And today in Roundwood, Co Wicklow, over the 35km course he beat Cian Delaney (Stamullen RC) by 1:26.

Richardson went around the course, starting at the back of the Reservoir out to Moneystown and back again, in 45:25 with Delaney riding it in 46:51.

Completing the podium was former masters road and TT champion Greg Swinand (Aqua Blue). The Irish hour record holder clocked a time of 47:39.

It was Ian Richardson’s third time winning the Noel Hammond Trophy, awarded the overall winner on the day.

The junior race, for which the Kieran Hammond Trophy is presented, was won by emerging young gun Sean Murnane.

Competing for the host club Orwell Wheelers, Murnane followed his brother Conor’s example in winning the event.

The Kieran Hammond trophy was formally known as the Kelly-Roche Cup, as it was donated to Orwell Wheelers by Sean Kelly and Stephen Roche.

The victories today for Ian Richardson and Murnane point to very good form just a matter of days away from the National TT Championships in Wexford next Thursday evening.


Sun, June 18th: Hammond Memorial TTs

Roundwood, Co Wicklow

Promoted by Scott Orwell Wheelers

1 Ian Richardson UCD 45:25
2 Cian Delaney Stamullen RC 46:51
3 Greg Swinand Aquablue 47:39

A2 Winner
Chris Troy Castlebar CC 51:30

A3 Winner
Cillian Moffat Unattached 51:51

Junior Winner
Seán Murnane Scott-Orwell Wheelers 57:19

A4 Winner
Brendan Row Navan RC 56:02

Women’s Winner
Aileen Flynn Bray Wheelers CC 56:47

U16 Winner
James Willett McNally Swords 1:03:55

U14 Winner
Dylan Baker Scott-Orwell Wheelers 17:56

U12 Winner
Katie Reilly Scott-Orwell Wheelers 24:05


Results In Full

1 Ian Richardson UCD FitzCycles A1 45:25 1st A1
2 Cian Delaney Stamullen RC A1 46:51 2nd A1
3 Greg Swinand Aqua Blue Sport Academy A1 47:39 3rd A1
4 Cian Sutcliffe Aqua Blue Sport Academy A1 49:04 4th A1
5 Chris Troy Castlebar CC A2 51:30 1st A2
6 Cillian Moffat Unattached A3 51:51 1st A3
7 Cathal Johnston South Dublin CC A3 53:35 2nd A3
8 Brendan Roe Navan RC A4 56:02 1st A4
9 Aileen Flynn Bray Wheelers W 56:47 1st Woman
10 Barry Greene Scott-Orwell Wheelers A4 57:00 2nd A4
11 Rodney Joyce St. Tiernan’s A4 57:04 3rd A4
12 Seán Murnane Scott-Orwell Wheelers JR 57:19 1st Junior
13 Philip Hayden Bray Wheelers A4 58:22 4th A4
14 Dmitri Griffin Scott-Orwell Wheelers JR 59:23 2nd Junior
15 Monica Frieband Scott-Orwell Wheelers W 1:01:41 2nd Woman
16 David Hendron Scott-Orwell Wheelers A4 1:02:09 5th A4
17 James Willett McNally Swords U16 1:03:55 1st U16
18 Cathy Wyse Scott-Orwell Wheelers W 1:05:45 3rd Woman
19 Charlotte Stevens Scott-Orwell Wheelers W DNF