Clann Eireann’s Cahoon steals march on rivals at Hugo Loughran GP

Posted on: May 25th, 2019

Hugo Loughran GP: Ciaran Cahoon has time to celebrate, though the bunch was breathing down his neck all the way to the line (Photos by Toby Watson)

Ciaran Cahoon has won the main event at the Hugo Loughran GP, taking the victory for Clann Eireann CC just ahead of the peloton.

He stole a march on those behind and was strong enough to hold off the peloton on the slightly uphill finish in the Island Wheelers promotion main event.

Cahoon reached the finish line with a few lengths to spare; enough time to win it comfortably and celebrate his victory.

Just behind him, Eugene Clarke (Bann Valley) was fastest to the line for 2nd place, with Luke Roberts (Shimna Wheelers) rounding out the podium.

In the A4 race in Ballycrummy, the honours came down to a bunch sprint, which was won by Duncan Halliday (Errigal CC).

Jamie McMahon (DB Cycling Club) took 2nd place, from Glenn Phair (Portadown CC) and Ireneusz Bartkow (VC Glendale).

Fri, May 24th: Hugo Loughran GP

Ballycrummy, Armagh

Promoted by Island Wheelers

A3 Hugo Loughran GP (46 miles)

  1. Ciaran Cahoon Clann Eireann CC
  2. Eugene Clarke Bann Valley
  3. Luke Roberts Shimna Wheelers
  4. Matthew Seebach Slaney CC
  5. David Conor Armagh City Cyclists
  6. Gerard Craig VC Glendale
  7. Stevie Fitzsimmons Banbridge CC
  8. Kyle Wethers Dromore CC
  9. Stuart Kerr Phoenix CC
  10. David Neil Armstrong Dromara CC
  11. Sean Og Harrington Four Masters CC
  12. Gareth McFarland Square Wheelers
  13. Ralph Ginesi Newry Wheelers
  14. Ronan Kennedy Banbridge CC
  15. Brian McLornan Shimna Wheelers

Leading Woman

  1. Laura Wylie McConvey Cycles
Duncan Halliday takes victory in the A4 race from Jamie McMahon and Glenn Phair

A4 Race (46 miles)

  1. Duncan Halliday Errigal CC
  2. Jamie McMahon DB Cycling Club
  3. Glenn Phair Portadown CC
  4. Ireneusz Bartkow VC Glendale
  5. Aaron Little Clogher Valley
  6. Ryan Henderson Clann Eireann
  7. Brian Kennedy McNally Swords CC
  8. Andrew Porter Shimna Wheelers
  9. Gareth McBride North Down CC
  10. Garrett Greene Velo Cafe Magasin