Boyd gets better of Montgomery for Ulster champion’s crown

Posted on: December 9th, 2018

Thomas Creighton leads eventual winner Graham Boyd on their way to gold and bronze for McConvey Cycles in Dungannon (All photos by Toby Watson)


After riding very well already this season Graham Boyd has been crowned elite men’s Ulster cyclocross champion.

The McConvey Cycles man had just 11 seconds to spare on runner-up David Montgomery (Unattached) at the end of just under an hour of racing.

And coming home another 43 seconds later was first-year U23 rider and last year’s national junior champion Thomas Creighton.
The result meant McConveys took gold and bronze, though that was not enough for the team prize on the day,

Instead, that went to Newry Wheelers from Dromara Cycling Club and Kinning Cycles.

In a hard-fought contest in Windmill Park, Dungannon, it was young Creighton who got the best start.

He forged clear on the opening two laps of six in the Island Wheelers promotion.

He had between 15 and 20 seconds to spare over the eventual winner and runner-up after those opening circuits.

However, the men just behind never panicked and began the task of closing him down from the third lap on.


Bingham, Boyd and Doherty take the M40, elite men’s and M50-60 titles respectively.


With four laps completed the early leader had been pegged back and Boyd and Montgomery started to push ahead.

And on the two final circuits, while Montgomery fought hard, it was Boyd who won the battle to claim the title.

In the senior women’s event the contest was a smaller one, with Rachel Irvine completely dominant.

The Bike House CC rider surged into an early lead and never looked back, winning it by a very clear margin.

She left Andra Hamilton (Dromara CC) and Ellie McArdle (Square Wheelers) in her wake to fight for silver and bronze.

Irvine gained significant time on her medal rivals on each of the four laps. In the end she had almost six minutes to spare on Hamilton, with McArdle a further 1:08 back.

The junior men’s race was won by VC Glendale’s Lee Harvey; by 35 seconds from Ciaran Dixon of McConvey Cycles.

Donal Walsh of AAA Cycling rounded out the podium, coming in for bronze 27 seconds down on Dixon.


Harkness wins the junior women’s race, Montgomery on his way to elite silver and Harvey scores junior men’s gold.


In the junior women’s race Darcey Harkness of Carn Wheelers won gold by 1:02 from Niamh McKiverigan (Powerhouse Sport).

Rachel McBride of Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club took the junior champs bronze medal.

The women’s masters race was won by Diane Wilson (Dromara CC) by 33 seconds from Gil Smith (Unattached) and Martina Hawkins (Dromara CC).

In the Masters 40 event, Alan Bingham of Newry Wheelers claimed gold from the biggest field of the day. He had just nine seconds to spare over Christian Nachtigall (Phoenix CC).

Jason Henry (Inspired Cycling) just about beat Drew McKinley (Newry Wheelers) to the line for the bronze; four seconds the margin between the two.

And fresh from his very strong 12th place at the masters Worlds, Brendan Doherty of VC Glendale took the combined Masters 50-60 title,

Doherty had 29 seconds in hand over Peter McConville of Newry Wheelers, with his team mate Des Woods winning bronze another 1:11 back.


Sun, Dec 9: Ulster Cyclocross Championships

Promoted by Island Wheelers

Windmill Park, Dungannon, Co Tyrone

Senior Men’s Race

  1. Graham BOYD McConvey Cycles 56:49
  2. David MONTGOMERY Unattached 57:00
  3. Thomas CREIGHTON McConvey Cycles 57:43
  4. Gareth MCKEE Banbridge CC 58:09
  5. Darnell MOORE Caldwell Cycles Omagh 58:44
  6. Lewis FERGUSON The Bike House CC 1:00:50
  7. Angus FYFFE Caldwell Cycles Omagh 1:01:49
  8. Barry KELLETT Dromara Cycling Club 1:02:18
  9. Darragh MCCARTER Donegal Bay Cycling Club 1:03:18
  10. Mark MCKINLEY Newry Wheelers CC 1:03:26
  11. Sean FEATHERSTONE Newry Wheelers CC 1:04:24
  12. James MCCOURT Island Wheelers 1:06:22


Senior Women’s Race

  1. Rachel IRVINE The Bike House CC 47:18
  2. Andra HAMILTON Dromara Cycling Club 53:25
  3. Ellie MCARDLE Square Wheels 54:33


Junior Men’s Race

  1. Lee HARVEY VC Glendale 48:53
  2. Ciaran DIXON McConvey Cycles 49:28
  3. Donal WALSH AAA Cycling 49:55
  4. Paul-Antoine HAGAN Team Vision Racing 50:08
  5. Ben WILSON Dromara Cycling Club 53:14
  6. Callum RICHARDSON Trail Demons CC 51:25


Junior Women’s Race

  1. Darcey HARKNESS Carn Wheelers 45:41
  2. Niamh MCKIVERIGAN Powerhouse Sport 46:43
  3. Rachel MCBRIDE Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club 46:03


Masters Women’s Race

  1. Diane WILSON Dromara Cycling Club 47:51
  2. Gill SMITH Unattached 48:24
  3. Martina HAWKINS Dromara Cycling Club 49:43
  4. Roisin SKEFFINGTON Square Wheels 53:36
  5. Alison MCMULLAN Unattached 55:06
  6. Kathryn AIKEN Unattached 56:24
  7. Fancea MCNALLY Square Wheels 58:35
  8. Caroline MARTINEZ Inspired Cycling 45:05


Masters 40 Men

  1. Alan BINGHAM Newry Wheelers CC 48:53
  2. Christian NACHTIGALL Phoenix CC 49:02
  3. Jason HENRY Inspired Cycling 49:39
  4. Drew MCKINLEY Newry Wheelers CC 49:43
  5. Barry CONVERY Newry Wheelers CC 49:55
  6. Jj CONWAY Harps CC 50:42
  7. Aaron PARKS Banbridge CC 51:14
  8. Don TRAVERS Banbridge CC 51:22
  9. Pearse O’HAGAN Inspired Cycling 51:33
  10. David O’NEILL Inspired Cycling 51:36
  11. Neil ARMSTRONG Dromara Cycling Club 52:33
  12. Johnny TAYLOR Carn Wheelers 52:35


Masters 50-60 Men

  1. Brendan DOHERTY VC Glendale 49:55
  2. Peter MCCONVILLE Newry Wheelers CC 52:24
  3. Des WOODS Newry Wheelers CC 53:35
  4. Christopher MCCANN Banbridge CC 56:11
  5. Ian COCHRANE Banbridge CC 56:41
  6. Anthony BOYLE VC Glendale 57:43
  7. Neil MCCARTAN Dromore CC 59:28
  8. Kevin MCDOWELL North Down CC 48:46
  9. Aidan LAFFERTY Island Wheelers 48:57
  10. Deon MCNEILLY Shimna Wheelers Cycling Club 49:27
  11. Derek GRAHAM Dromara Cycling Club 49:39
  12. Brendan KIRK North Down CC 49:41