Pre-champs cyclocross form on show on cold day for battle

Posted on: January 8th, 2018

Glenn Kinning Lisa Stapelbroek cyclocross

As the national cyclocross championships approach, the battle was fierce yesterday on a cold and frosty day for racing. Some of the best riders in the country were in the thick of it. Above, eventual winner Glenn Kinning leads out of the start area, with Robin Seymour on his right (Photo: Toby Watson)


Glenn Kinning, Lisa Stapelbroek take Belfast cyclocross wins


With the National Cyclocross Championships imminent, yesterday’s race at Knocknagoney Park, Belfast, proved a welcome tune-up event.

And it was race promoter Glenn Kinning who showed the way in the A contest.  He got out of the blocks fastest and kept going.

Kinning and the up-and-coming U23 rider Darnell Moore – who won the Shay Elliott and the National Hill Climb Championships last year – were fastest on the opening lap.

However, it was Kinning who proved able to maintain that intense early pace.

He pulled ahead during the first four laps. Behind the two leaders was Irish off-road legend Robin Seymour.

Team Worc’s Seymour went up a gear in the second half of the race. And he would first peg back and pass Moore of Caldwell Cycles.

However, while Seymour would round some of the laps 10 seconds faster than the leader, Kinning had the race in hand.

He had built up a very decent lead over those opening circuits. And he showed on the penultimate lap of nine that he still had something in reserve.


Glenn Kinning Lisa Stapelbroek cyclocross

Lisa Stapelbroek of Kenmare Cycling Club takes the women’s race. She has looked in great form all season (Photo: Toby Watson)


With Seymour chasing him hard, Kinning gained three seconds on that eighth circuit. He would then relinquish 10 seconds to Seymour on that final lap.

And the fact just eight seconds separated the men at the finish suggested both are in very good form ahead of the championships.

Moore would take 3rd place on the day. He was 35 seconds down on Seymour. But after the top three there was a bigger gap.

In 4th place was the impressive junior Thomas Creighton; the McConvey Cycles man one to watch.

Moving to the women’s race; the form Munster rider this season, Lisa Stapelbroek, made the trip North.

And having taken win after win in recent months, she was at it again yesterday. Over six laps she was clearly the best of the small field.

The Kenmare CC rider had almost 30 seconds in hand on nearest rival Julie Rea (Phoenix CC) after the opening lap.

And in the end that’s how it would stay; Stapelbroek adding to her lead on every lap but the last.

She took victory by 44 seconds over Rea. And just 12 seconds later Helen White (Stamullen CC) took 3rd.

She had overhauled Breda Horan to round out the podium after the Orwell Wheelers rider got a great start but faded on the last couple of laps.

In the B race, Ray Brownfield (North Down CC) claimed victory by 1:01 from Mark Gordon of Newry Wheelers.

And in 3rd place came Michael McMullan (Unattached); some3:21 down on the winner.


Glenn Kinning Lisa Stapelbroek cyclocross

Ray Brownfield of North Down CC looked pleased with a strong win in the support race (Photo: Tony Mairs – The Belgian Project)


Jan 7th: Kinning Cross Knocknagoney

Promoted by Kinning Cycles

Knocknagoney Park, Belfast

Men’s A Race

1 Glenn Kinning Kinning Cycles 55:16
2 Robin Seymour Team WORC 55:24
3 Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh 55:59
4 Thomas Creighton McConvey Cycles 57:29
5 Graham Boyd McConvey Cycles 57:39
6 Tim O’Regan Killarney Cycling Club 59:34
7 Alan Bingham Cuchulainn CC 59:53
8 Dominic McCartan Apollo Cycling Team 1:00:16
9 Evan Ryan Team WORC 1:00:27
10 Brendan Doherty VC Glendale 1:01:23
11 Des Woods Newry Wheelers CC 1:01:42
12 Eric Downey Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club -1 lap
13 Drew McKinley Newry Wheelers CC -1 lap
14 Barry Convery Newry Wheelers CC -1 lap
15 Jason Henry Unattached -1 lap


Women’s Race

1 Lisa Stapelbroek Kenmare Cycling Club 42:37
2 Julie Rea Phoenix CC 43:21
3 Helen White Stamullen RC 43:33
4 Breda Horan Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club 44:12
5 Orla Conroy Bray Wheelers -1 lap


Men’s B Race

1 Ray Brownfield North Down CC 47:30
2 Mark Gordon Newry Wheelers CC 48:31
3 Michael McMullan Unattached 50:51
4 Lee Somerville Lakeland 51:20
5 John McGettigan Lucan Cycling Road Club 52:46
6 Ray Beers East Antrim CC 53:16
7 Brendan Kirk North Down CC 54:52
8 Sean Daly Cuchulainn CC 55:29
9 Andrew Graham Velo Club Mourne 47:19
10 Lukasz Oleksiewicz Team WORC 47:20
11 Kevin McDownell North Down CC -1 lap
12 Lloyd Moore Scott Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club -1 lap
13 Niall McCarron Newry Wheelers CC -1 lap
14 Kenny Fowler Square Wheels -1 lap
15 Sam Herron Velo Club Mourne -1 lap