Glenn Kinning and David Conroy battle hard in Valkenburg Worlds

Posted on: February 4th, 2018

David Conroy Glenn Kinning Valkenburg Worlds

David Conroy battles through the mud at the World Cyclocross Championships in Valkenburg. He was riding the U23 race while Glenn Kinning was Ireland’s man in the elite event (Photos by Toby Watson)


Glenn Kinning, David Conroy in Valkenburg Worlds


Glenn Kinning and David Conroy have gone into battle for Ireland at the World Cyclocross Championships today.

Kinning was riding the elite race and Conroy the U23 contest. Both were the sole Irish riders in their respective races.

Conroy was unlucky early in the event, getting stuck behind a number of crashes. He then also crashed himself.

That impeded his progress on what was a very muddy course in Valkenburg.

Eli Iserbyt of Belgium won the U23 title. After 51 minutes of intense racing he was 28 seconds to the good over the next man home.

Joris Niuewenhuis was next to finish, for host nation Holland. And Frenchman Yan Gras was just 7 seconds back to claim bronze.


David Conroy Glenn Kinning Valkenburg Worlds


There was then a large gap, of 50 seconds, before Adam ŤoupalÍk of the Czech Republic took 4th place.

Conroy finished in 54th place, one lap down. He has two years remaining at U23 level.

In the elite race the Belgians also came out on top. They had no fewer than six riders in the top 10.

They took gold and silver with the flying Wout Van Aert and Michael Vanthourenhout. Mathieu van der Poel took bronze for the hosts.

Van Aert won by a staggering 2:13; a huge margin at this level.

Kinning rode very solidly for Ireland but competing against the top flight pros he always had a huge fight on his hands.

The bike shop owner and classy off-road and road dual rider would place 55th at one lap.

More to follow, including photos of Kinning.


World Cyclocross Championships 2018

Sun, Feb 4: Valkenburg, Holland

Elite Men’s Race

1 VAN AERT Wout Belgium 1:09:00
2 VANTHOURENHOUT Michael Belgium 1:11:13
3 VAN DER POEL Mathieu Netherlands 1:11:30
4 AERTS Toon Belgium 1:12:16
5 VAN DER HAAR Lars Netherlands 1:13:29
6 BERTOLINI Gioele Italy 1:13:42
7 MERLIER Tim Belgium 1:13:56
8 SWEECK Laurens Belgium 1:14:21
9 SOETE Daan Belgium 1:14:30
10 CHAINEL Steve France 1:14:51
11 HERMANS Quinten Belgium 1:14:58
12 BOROŠ Michael Czech Republic 1:15:16
13 MOUREY Francis France 1:15:27
14 MEISEN Marcel Germany 1:15:44
15 HYDE Stephen USA 1:15:53
55 KINNING Glenn Ireland -1 Lap


U23 Men’s Race

1 ISERBYT Eli Belgium 0:50:54
2 NIEUWENHUIS Joris Netherlands 0:51:22
3 GRAS Yan France 0:51:29
4 ŤOUPALÍK Adam Czech Republic 0:52:19
5 AERTS Thijs Belgium 0:52:38
6 BENOIST Antoine France 0:52:49
7 WOUTERS Sieben Netherlands 0:53:19
8 DORIGONI Jakob Italy 0:53:50
9 HECHT Gage USA 0:53:58
10 KIELICH Timo Belgium 0:54:05
11 PEETERS Yannick Belgium 0:54:18
12 VANDEBOSCH Toon Belgium 0:54:20
13 FINE Eddy France 0:54:37
14 CULLELL ESTAPE Jofre Spain 0:54:40
15 PIDCOCK Thomas Great Britain 0:54:51
54 CONROY David Ireland –1 Lap