Dave Watson takes Foyle GP, dedicates win to tragic Gavin Moore

Posted on: July 16th, 2017

Dave Watson dedicates Foyle win to Gavin Moore

David Watson, leading, on his way to winning the Foyle GP which he dedicated to his late and former North Down CC club mate Gavin Moore (Photo with thanks to Peter McLaughlin)


Dave Watson dedicates Foyle win to Gavin Moore


David Watson followed up his Tommy Givan Memorial win last weekend with victory in the Foyle GP on Sunday afternoon.

He kept at bay familiar foes Conor McCann and Ronan McLaughlin.

The Bikehouse rider went on to dedicate the win to his former North Down CC club mate Gavin Moore.

Gavin was killed during a collision on a training ride last Tuesday.

Watson had won the Foyle GP for North Down CC back in 2015.

That day he beat Ronan McLaughlin into second; the now Foyle CC rider who would round out the podium.


Sun, July 16th: Foyle GP

Promoted by Foyle CC

Killea, Co Donegal

A1-A2 Race – 70 miles

1 David Watson The Bikehouse CC
2 Conor McCann Inspired Cycling
3 Ronan McLaughlin Foyle CC
4 Kevin McKinney Armagh CC
5 Craig McAuley Caldwell
Unplaced A2 Kevin Lynch Newry


A3 Race – 60miles

1 Donal Sheerin Phoenix
2 Adrian McGregor Dunlop
2 Mitchell McLaughlin Planet X
4 Dean Burnside Island Wheelers
5 Gordon Watt East Tyrone
Unplaced Junior Conal McKee Phoenix


A4 Race – 50miles

1 Maurice Sutherland FCC
2 Sean McCourt VC Glendale
3 Gareth McLaughlin Bann Wheelers
4 Sam McCauley SLCC
5 Glenn McDaid Inishowen Wheelers


Women’s Race – 40miles

1 Lisa Lamont Madigan
2 Jane Wilkinson Bann Wheelers
3 Meta Johnston Madigan


Masters’s Race – 40miles

1 Chris McCann Phoenix
2 Tommy Wilson Ballymena
3 Sean Hargan Phoenix