Flying Dermot Trulock tops big name podium in Mullingar

Posted on: June 15th, 2017

Dermot Trulock Mullingar Criterium

Dermot Trulock takes a really strong win at the Mullingar Criterium, from lapped riders. He left some top names in his wake (Photo: John Hammer)


Dermot Trulock tops podium at Mullingar Criterium


Dermot Trulock has taken victory in the Mullingar Destination Sport Criterium in Co Westmeath.

The Lucan CRC man put in a fantastic effort to win the race solo. He would lap a large chunk of the filed in the process.

And behind it was two of the very strongest riders in the country who rounded out the podium.

Mark Dowling of Strata3-VeloRevolution was 2nd, with Matteo Cigala of Aqua Blue Academy in 3rd place.

That was a reversal of the order they finished in the Brian McNamara Memorial at the weekend when Cigala won and Dowling was 2nd.

One of Mullingar’s most famous sons, Damian Shaw of An Post-Chainreaction also rode the main event last night.

Promoting club Lakeside Wheelers was where Shaw began his cycling. However, he was to be denied a victorious return and would have to settle for 5th.


Dermot Trulock Mullingar Criterium

Damien Shaw leads eventual winner Dermot Trulock in the early stages of the contest (Photo: JohnHammer)


Wed, June 14th: Mullingar Criterium

Sponsored by Destination Sport

Promoted by Lakeside Wheelers

1 Dermot Trulock, Lucan CRC
2 Mark Dowling, Strata3-VeloRevolution
3 Matteo Cigala, Aqua Blue
4 Adam Stenson, Bikeworkx Celbridge
5 Damien Shaw, An Post Chainreaction
6 Philip Lavery, Unattached


A3 Race

1 Ben Walsh NRPT-Titan Containers
2 Seán Landers, Stamullen RC
3 Callum O’Toole, Scott Orwell
4 John Priest, Lucan CRC
5 Seán Kennedy, NRPT-Titan Containers
6 Eoghan McArdle Ruane, NRPT-Titan Containers


A4 Race

1 Paul Heynen, Lucan CC
2 Ian Lambden, Lakeside Wheelers CC
3 Raymond Daly, Lucan CC
4 Mick Reynolds, Lakeside Wheelers
5 Alan Flynn, Team 905
6 Aidan Farrell, Lakeside Wheelers